We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it when it's open” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dr. Root Beer's Hall of Foam - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dr. Root Beer's Hall of Foam
288 Fulcher Landing Road, Sneads Ferry, NC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Jamestown, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love it when it's open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

They have the best floats but when I went this year they were not open. I'm hoping that this year they will be opened up again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice Place for a Rootbeer Float”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The service was pretty good and the float was yummy. We've stopped there a few times and always liked it, but I wouldn't go too far out of my way to go there again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Closed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My son loves root beer, so we made a special trip to find this place. It was advertised in several local magazines and fliers, and the sign is still up on the side street, but the building is empty. No signs of explanation or notices, just an empty building with a construction truck out front. Big disappointment for my son.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not open this August”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We look forward to visiting Dr. Root Beer every summer, but he appears to be out of business for now. He's come and gone in past years, so I hope he will return. Missing my annual root beer float. He makes a mean one!

As the other reviewer noted, he's got many interesting root beer signs and banners that will bring back memories.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A CURIOSITY SHOP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Neat little place full of root beer paraphernalia and an owner who knows everything about root beer. The food is average fare that has root beer and sarsparilla as ingredients. Good place to visit once as a novelty or I guess more often if you have a love for root beer.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Root Beer's Hall of Foam also viewed

Sneads Ferry, North Carolina Coast
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina Coast
 
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina Coast
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dr. Root Beer's Hall of Foam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.