We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean w/ Indoor Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Smithfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Smithfield to your Saves list
Super 8 Smithfield
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   735 Outlet Center Drive, Smithfield, NC 27577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Clean w/ Indoor Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped here last year by mistake on our way home from Disney. We needed a place to sleep and found this hotel. It was a great mistake. The price wasn't bad, the staff was very courteous, the hotel and room were very clean, pool was indoors and nice, and had a well stocked decent breakfast. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Sometimes we can learn a lot by the mistakes we make. According to your review, you did learn that our property is convenient, clean, friendly and accomodating to travelers. Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you made a "great mistake". Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    224
    76
    11
    6
See reviews for
259
177
61
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband had to go out of town on a business trip. That meant that I had to take our precious Minkie (Yorkiepoo) on my business trip to Smithfield. It was a no brainer. I called the Super 8 ahead of time and had all of my questions answered. This review is about my stay. Minkie is one spoiled dog and her red carpet treatment at the Super 8 is one to be remembered. She was bestowed with doggie treats at check in. Now, everytime I walk her past the front desk, she hesitates, and of course is graced with another treat. I don’t know who is more confortable on the big cushie bed...me or the dog. We both are!! I am happy to report I love this hotel. Not because of the great rooms, big tv’s, quiet non smoking floors, or continental breakfasts, it’s because how my little pooch Minkie is treated. I’d like to add, I was treated well to. I passed on the doggie treats though. I highly recommend the Super 8 for those who are traveling with their 4 legged family members. You will be as happy as Minkie!!
Thank you Arlene for the care you put forth in taking care of us both!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor and was very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
It was a thrill reading your review about our property. You sounded so excited, maybe because you found a nice place to stay that accepts pets, is clean, and very friendly too! I hope Minkie is doing well and thank you for telling us of your "happy" stay with us. We look forward to seeing your family, Minkie too, again. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in en route to North Myrtle Beach. It was fairly priced and the room was in decent shape. We don't need all the luxuries for a night's stay. The room was clean and we enjoyed the indoor pool. Would recommend to anyone looking for a cheaper place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We value you as a guest and hope you will stay with us again when in this area. Thanks! Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 4 nights a week almost every week for the last 2 yrs while in town working. This is a very nice hotel and a great friendly staff. The only problem I ever had was early morning hall noise from other workers who were also guest at the hotel. I told the staff about it and the situation was addressed and taken care of. I have stayed in a lot of different hotels over the years in my work and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our property. We appreciate your business and hope you will continue coming to see us. Let this be your "home away from home". Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have been staying in this hotel for the past 4 years when we travelled from Florida to New Jersey. The recent one was on 7/28/2012. We were quite disappointed this time although we did give them another chance after the last stay. There was not much improvement. The room and bathroom LOOKED clean, but both rooms smelled. By the time we got to the hotel , we were so tired and did not complain. but we will definitely not book this chain again in the future.

Room Tip: they give discount to AARP members
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
I am so sorry for the problems you had on your recent stay with us! I hope you will give us another try and visit us again. The problems you experienced have been addressed to the staff Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several years ago on my way up to NYC. Back then I gave this hotel a nice rating. The room we stayed in then was large, bed very comfortable, clean. This time, the experience was very different. Maybe the upstairs rooms are larger, but when we stayed in lower level, the rooms were tiny, a little dirty and the beds were terrible. One nice thing, each bed has a bedbug cover around the whole mattress. The staff was okay, not as nice as before. The workers take frequent cigarette breaks a few feet from the front door. There is a constant stream of workers smoking. I had gone to the front desk a few times and each time found the desk person outside on her cell phone smoking a cigarette. As I was on their free computer by the front desk, I overheard another desk person having a private conversation using the hotels phone. I heard all about her woes. On my vacation, I really don't want to hear about other peoples problems.

The breakfast was a joke. There was a few yogurts, toast, cereal, waffles and juice or coffee.

I had two reasons why I chose this hotel, 1) I had a good experience the last time and 2) they were the very few hotels that allows 5 people per room. However, the room was so small that our air mattress barely fit. They charge us for a rollaway bed, so I brought my own air mattress

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs, those must be bigger because that is where we stayed the last time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I am deeply sorry for any inconvenience you had during your visit with us. The issue you had with our staff will be adressed. We value your business and hope you will give us another try.
Thank you for staying with us. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stopped off during road trip. Right off interstate...lots of restaurants within walking distance. Only issues are small parking lot and too close to I95. Had to park in neighboring hotel lot. Can hear cars from room when a/c is off.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandowless, Director of Sales at Super 8 Smithfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
It was our pleasure serving your lodging needs while in NC. Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. Joan Dowless, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Smithfield

Address: 735 Outlet Center Drive, Smithfield, NC 27577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Smithfield
#4 Family Hotel in Smithfield
#5 Business Hotel in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Smithfield 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Carolina Premium Outlets. Within walking distance to Outback, Bob Evans, Ruby Tuesday and Texas Steakhouse. Free SuperStart Breakfast. All rooms equipped with microwave/fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer & iron/board. Super Start Breakfast with hot waffles, yogurt, cheese, cereal, Cinnamon buns, sausage biscuits and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Smithfield Hotel Smithfield
Super Eight Smithfield
Smithfield Super Eight
Smithfield Super 8 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Smithfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.