We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   197 Mallard Road, Smithfield, NC 27577 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Smithfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Smithfield
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Please people, I beg of you. Do not stay at this hotel. My mother and I were visting relatives in the area and decided to stay at a hotel for the night. I knew we were in trouble from the moment we arrived--you could barely see the hotel from the highway. When we got to our room, my mom went in to "inspect", I was afraid to get out of our car. We I finally got the nerve to enter the room I was shocked at what I saw. The bathroom was dirty and moldy. The sheets looked as if they had not been washed...well...EVER!!! I was afraid to sit down on the bed, much less sleep in it! The room smelled bad and everything was dirty and disgusting. We ended up leaving and finding a better hotel nearby for almost the same price!

There is NO reason to stay at this hotel. It is located near really nice hotels nearer the Carolina Outlets.

Luckily for us, Travelocity refunded all of our money.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    3
    14
See reviews for
11
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

We'd be using the Howard Johnson in Smithfield for years-immediate family in the area. Hadn't stayed in about 4 years. It's become a dive! There were people there that were using it as public housing-they had their laundry stung out on a line. There were animals-cats and dogs-milling around by the rooms. One person had left their pickup truck door wide open for a dog to sleep. We got into the room and it was gross. The smell of urine was overpowering. There was mold inside the small fridge in the room. They had patched holes in the curtains with duct tape. Needless to say-we checked back out pronto. Notified HJ headquarters about the conditions-told they it was now a independently own hotel now. I told the rep they should revoke their franchise-they aren't keeping it up to HJ standards at all..

  • Liked — Nothing-they even did away with the resturant there.
  • Disliked — The dirty rooms, animals roaming around by rooms.
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

We got out town for a weekend, about an hour and a half from home. The first night we stayed across the way at a decent little locally owned motel. We relocated for the second night because my son didn't like the dial-up internet, and thinking that this hotel had wireless he booked our second night here. BIG MISTAKE.

Upon checking in we went to the room just down the side from the office. The bed had a peculiar lean from foot-to-head. Having to sleep with my head slighlty elevated we had to use the cushions from the sofa to raise the mattress to a reasonable level. (Just above level, actually.) The condition of the cushions gave us an uneasy feeling so a friend, who always brings her own disinfectant, gladly sprayed them down for us.

We went out for the day and returned later to learn more of the problems with this motel. I had asked shortly after check-in for additional pillows to assist with my personal condition. I should have known from the answer, "I'll check, but I don't think we have any", that I would be disappointed. Needless to say, upon return and inquiring of the desk help (same individual) she said there were none available, as she continued her crocheting. The motel was practically empty!!

We went to use the microwave that came with the room and were greeted by a loud ticking noise. Thus causing us to quickly cease from using it. When we looked behind it we noticed that there were FOUR items, including the microwave, plugged into an extension cord.

In the morning we went to check out the "Continental Breakfast." What a joke. It consisted of stale Cheerios with hot milk, a bag of stale powdered doughnuts, waffles - with a broken toaster, and orange juice you had to try and get from a broken machine. Needless to say, we passed!!

To sum it up the rooms were just a disaster when it comes down to it. The amenities were the same. Oh yeah, dial-up internet service, which worked even slower than the other motels.

I have never encountered such a horrendous setting and service from a HoJo's. But trust me, we'll NEVER stay at this one again. Nor do we recommend it to anyone, not even my enemies.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

This past Saturday we were on our way back to NY after spending a wonderful week in Florida. It 11pm at night and my husband and I got really tired after the long drive. We spotted the sign for a Best Western, but upon making the exit we saw this Howard Johnson property, so I told my husband to let's just take this place, how bad could it be?
I should have turned around the minute I got into the lobby area, as that should be an indication of the type of surrounding. Instead I went ahead and booked a room with my credit card, my husband kept asking me if I was sure I wanted to do this.
When we proceeded to drive around to where our room was located, I somehow started to feel uncomfortable. It felt very unsafe..not the place I could stay for the night.
Upon getting to my room and putting the key in the door, I saw a king size bed that looked at if the matteress was well used, it looked like a nasty motel. I was so shocked that I slammed the door and jumped back in the car (before my husband could get out) and told him we'd better get out of here. We drove back to the lobby area and asked the lady to kindly refund my money as I have no intention of staying there.
She didn't hesitate, and we headed out and realized that all the better hotels were on the other side of the exit.
This place is unsafe and should be closed for good.
As a tripadvisor member I have to let others know. FYI..the room cost was $56.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2004

We had a very frightening experience. A black man tried to break into our room around 2:30 a.m. Only quick thinking on my husband's part did we avoid serious injury. The people in charge of the motel didn't even come down to our room to check to see if we were okay. We called the police and they waited until we packed up and headed for home. We did receive our money back. After notifying Howard Johnson Headquarters, they informed us that they are independently owned and they were sorry for our "inconvenience. Need I say we will never stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2004

Stayed here in August 2003. Booked the room on line and got a real good rate. It is not the Waldorf but it was clean and the staff were really nice and helpful. Location is right off 95. We are one night stay travelers so we are not looking for four star motels. We like a clean, safe comfortable place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 197 Mallard Road, Smithfield, NC 27577 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Smithfield)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Smithfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Smithfield, part of Johnston County, NC, located along the Neuse River. Our hotel's advantageous location allows you a gaze into the past at the Johnston County Heritage Center, Hinnant Family Vineyards and Winery, Tobacco Farm Life Museum of North Carolina. Whistle "dixie" as you "march to the beat" of our forefathers at Bettonville Battlefield. Relive the glamorous life of a big screen legend at the Eva Gardner Museum. Shop until you drop at Carolina Premium Outlets or TWM Antique Mall. Bask in the sun at Cobblestone Community Pool or Tucker Lake Recreation. Andy's of Smithfield, Mucho Mexico and Smithfield's Chicken*n BBQ are also sure to please.Our hotel offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast and a free cup of coffee. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool or have your children frolic at our on-site playground. Step into our guest rooms and experience absolute relaxation with free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat screen plasma cable TV, hairdryer, iron (upon request), ironing board, desk with lamp, wake-up service and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Smithfield, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Smithfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.