We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER VALUE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howell Theatre

Howell Theatre
141 S. Third Street, Smithfield, NC 27577
919-938-1201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Attractions in Smithfield
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“SUPER VALUE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A great theater a super value! $2 per ticket! Great for a couple or a whole family. It was a wonderful experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Great Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a great theatre. We saw Hunger Games for a low price and had a great date! Smithfield is a nice little town!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A REAL DEAL!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

While searching for a movie ( Gravity) that we missed seeing during opening weeks we came across this hidden little gem ( Howell Theatre) tucked away down a side street in Smithfield, North Carolina!! This theatre shows movies that have been showing for a few weeks at larger theatres but at a much lower price. We went to a matinee (before 4pm on a wkday) and tickets were $2.50 each (one price for children & adults) I couldn't believe it when told that (6) tickets for $15.00... My husband had promised our (10 yr old grandson) that he would take him to see it over the holiday break from school so after using google search , there it was and only about a 30 minute drive for us..Our party split up while (2) younger children went w/Dad to watch another movie as all showings started at the same time. This is an older theater which was built in 1935 and has (4) screens) (2) upstairs with stadium seating and (2) on lower floor which has high back rocking seats. These updates and at these prices does not break your budget which allows the kids to buy popcorn and a drink - which is still at least half the price below the larger theaters!! I don't usually go to the movies as I refuse to pay those high prices but now I will take the grandchildren at these prices which include ( at no extra cost) friendly faces starting at the ticket window, and small but clean restrooms....FYI No outside food or drinks allowed!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We love this theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Have been several times the bottom seats are more comfortable than the upstairs seats but the prices are great and the employees are very friendly and helpful. We will continue to wait for the movies we want to watch to get to this theatre and they get them pretty quick too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great movie theater gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Friendly people, current movies, awesome ticket prices... what more can you ask for? It all adds up to a great place to take your family for an afternoon at the movies that won't break the bank!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howell Theatre also viewed

Smithfield, North Carolina Coast
Smithfield, North Carolina Coast
 
Smithfield, North Carolina Coast
Smithfield, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Howell Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howell Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.