We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel but Bait & Switch Pricing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Becky's Log Cabin Motel

Becky's Log Cabin Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smithfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Becky's Log Cabin Motel
Save
You added Becky's Log Cabin Motel to your Saves list
2491 US Highway 70 Bus E, Smithfield, NC 27577-7788   |  
Hotel amenities
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Motel but Bait & Switch Pricing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Followed signs on Highway & Exit off 95. Alll signs state $45.95 but when we checked in we were told they raised the rates and it was now $49.95. OK, it was only $5.00 more but that's not the point after seeing all the signs for $44.95, we could have chose someplace else if we knew they were going to jack up the price. We were then told they do not honor the AAA discount either. Not so friendyi at the Front Desk either. The rooms were clean & the motel is well kept. If I had not been so tired I would have gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get there early & if they jack up the rate, go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
12
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great place to stop and relax after the trials of 95. Reasonably priced, large clean rooms , nice grounds, restaurant on site, in the country but close to outlets, and J&R. Always enjoy our stay. After 5 or 6 hours on 95, nice place to decompress. Holt Lake BBQ close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, VT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Clean, spacious and comfortable accommodations for folks on a modest budget. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice to escape the chain motels and support a local small business. Restaurant on the property is convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place was a surprise...it has been in business for a while but it was wonderful...excellent room rates and clean. Very quite and front desk staff excellent. If is out side of town just east of interstate 95 at Exit 95. Just couple of miles access to a variety of places to eat that are fast food and also restaurants, but they also have a restaurant that is right n the property in the parking lot. Definitely a place I will stay again.. Pluses.... Access, availability, price, atmosphere, hospitality..cleanliness..roomy. Stop by and check it out ......

Room Tip: We stayed in the king size room it was excellent Wonderful bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I checked in around 10 PM. Decent price for the area. I saw the sign for AAA so I inquired about the discount. Was told, "We don't give discounts." The lady was very friendly at check-in, told me about the best place in town for breakfast, the next morning. Also suggested I go to Golden Corral, which is only open for breakfast Fri., Sat. & Sun. I was there on a Tuesday night.
There were only stairs on the outside to get to room 80, so don't bring your heavy luggage in. The room looked nice when I first walked in. I t did smell REALLY BAD of stale smoke, as it's a smoking room. The rug was damp & had a musty smell to it. It actually smelled like the room hadn't been used in months. I plugged in my laptop and tried to use it. This was not possible if the air conditioner was on. It was 80 degrees outside, so I chose the air over the laptop.
The king sized mattress was VERY soft & uncomfortable. Just as I was headed for bed, I had an itch on my ankle, I looked down and there was a big ole flea having a feast on my. I then felt another bite on my right leg. Then my left ankle again. I was being attacked! I jumped into bed. I didn't get bit in bed, THANKFULLY!!! I could only sleep for 5 very restless hours. At 6:30 AM I finally went to the front office/restaurant for the complimentary "continental" breakfast. The coffee was HORRIBLE!!!! I couldn't even drink it. The danish was inedible. The OJ was undrinkable. Needless to say, I left. After waiting for almost ten minutes at the front desk, with no one there, I again asked the morning front desk person about the AAA discount. She informed me that the AAA discount was only for the restaurant. I pointed out that there was a AAA sign for the motel & that it was also advertised on their business card sitting on the front desk. She then gave me a dirty look and stated again, "It's for the restaurant." I got in my car and started to leave. ANOTHER flea attack. Two on my right ankle & 1 on the left. I went to the nearest store to buy flea spray and sprayed my car.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in Room 80!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Becky's Log Cabin was a pleasant surprise and good budget-minded alternative to chain motels in the Smithville area. The motel is very convenient to the I-95 exit and has a restaurant on property. This was a basic motel room with two double beds, television and bathroom with combo shower/tub. My only mild complaint would be the somewhat thin walls that allowed some sound intrusion from the adjacent rooms. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable room, a light breakfast and price under $50, you should consider Becky's. You certainly could do a lot worse for twice the price.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the office would be better if you plan to sleep in since there is a good amount o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

A little hesitant after reading the reviews on line, but when we got there were very pleased with the accomodations. The restaurant/lounge was very nice, quiet, and the food was very good. Would recommend staying at Beckys!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Becky's Log Cabin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becky's Log Cabin Motel

Address: 2491 US Highway 70 Bus E, Smithfield, NC 27577-7788
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Smithfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Smithfield
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Becky`s Log Cabin Hotel Smithfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becky's Log Cabin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.