We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shelby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Shelby to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Shelby
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2012 East Marion St, Shelby, NC 28150 (Formerly Hampton Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Shelby
Hamilton, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Business Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed several days. Great place to stay while on business, clean and quiet!! Look carefully for the turn in, it's by Denny's. Billboards were most helpful!

I was an early "check in" for a multi day stay ... they accommodated in the midst of their clean up schedule beautifully.

This will be a regular stop on business.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Terri Poole
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
3
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The stafff was professional and quick, they valued our time. The rooms were nice and clean. They have continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. The rooms have a microwave with small refrigerator.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Terri Poole
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

All was well. I stayed for three nights. For the most part the breakfast offerings were plentiful and well stocked except for the morning that bacon was the meat product served. Even though I was later to breakfast than probably most of the guests, there was no bacon in the serving pan and no breakfast staff around to ask for more. We asked the front desk for assistance and more bacon was provided. I stayed on the second floor and found the hallway lighting to be a bit dim even though all of the lights were working. I might suggest a little brighter lighting in the hallways so that the hotel does not look so dreary and uninviting. The hotel was quiet at night and I did not have any issue with sleeping. It did take a while for the shower water to get warm enough, but it never did get hot. Parking was plentiful. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. During my business day, I had forgotten to pick up a clipboard at one of my stops and someone was to drop it off at the hotel. I asked Brandon at the front desk to please accept it for me as I was going out for dinner. When I returned, I did not need to ask for the clipboard as Brandon saw me arriving and handed it to me as I walked in the door. Great service. I did not use the fitness room but it did seem to have enough equipment. Generally an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The first floor room corridor smelled of smoke so I presume that this is the smoking allowed rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Terri Poole
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was well stocked (including a hair dryer), and the bed was very comfortable. Nice to have the small refrigerator and microwave. Comfortable armchair in addition to the small desk with chair. Breakfast was heavy on the carbs, and the juice machine was broken; on the other hand, the biscuits were light and flaky. We came back in the evening and the front desk had a plate of fresh cookies on offer. Front desk staff were super helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Rosemarie Nixon
Director of Sales
Comfort INN Shelby, NC
704-482-5666.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

While there are other choices in the Shelby area I wound up staying here due to the proximity to my business needs. Stayed 3 nights in 3 separate rooms (checked out each morning) and found that each of them was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. All of the staff that I dealt with were exceptionally helpful and knowledgable of the area (food, shopping, etc). While there is not a lot to do in the area there is a small mall and multiplex theatre directly across from the hotel as well as several places to dine nearby.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Margie Rainey
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I was here for two nights. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. It was nice to have a choice of pillows. This made for some good rest on an otherwise busy weekend. It was very clean and up to date. The fridge and microwave came in handy for snacks. Breakfast was pretty good and was kept well stocked for the big crowd we had there. The shower could have been hotter but it was very cold outside that weekend. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, some in walking distance. The mall is right next door too. Check in and check out were a breeze. Rose did a great job with all of us leaving at the same time.

Room Tip: low number rooms are at the end of a very long hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are grateful you enjoyed your stay here at the Comfort INN Shelby!! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Our team strives to give all of our guest excellent service, I will make sure the comments are passed to our team.

Margie Rainey
General Manager
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I stayed here for 12 nights while in the area on business. There were four of us in two rooms. Upon check-in we found that our room had a terrible acrid-sweet smell, as if a bad odor was being masked by WAY too much air freshener. We immediately asked for another room and the front desk accommodated us immediately.
The next morning, we discovered we had no hot water in the shower. It was lukewarm at best. We mentioned this to the front desk and were told that's just what happens in the morning when everyone takes showers at the same time. Really? I've stayed at lots of hotels and most do NOT have this problem. Those establishments assume peak capacity and design water heaters to account for it. Apparently not here. We complained 3 more times over the course of our stay and were told, "sorry", "we'll look into it", and "we'll have maintenance check it out" by various front desk personnel. In 12 days we NEVER ONCE HAD A HOT SHOWER - no matter what time of day we attempted to shower. This is unacceptable in a hotel.
Also, over the course of our extended stay, the key cards to our rooms quit working and had to be reissued 4 times! The first time it happened we were told by the lady at the front desk that, "we should be careful, because these cards can become de-magnetized." Really? It's our fault that four keys to two rooms quit working? Three of us even kept them in our wallets and our credit cards were working just fine. Instead of passing blame to the guests, how about owning up to the fact that the person who issued the cards coded them wrong? My roommate and I had to get new keys 3 more times after this first incident, but luckily didn't get any lame excuses, just an apology and new key cards.
I'd rate the hotel lower, but will give it 2 stars because the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. However, any hotel that cannot provide hot water for a shower a single time in 12 days deserves a POOR rating. Should I ever return to the area, I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
My staff and I greatly apologize for your inconveniences. We have addressed the issues pertaining hot water and it has now been resolved. We strive to exceed our guests expectations. I hope in the future you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shelby

Address: 2012 East Marion St, Shelby, NC 28150 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shelby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn hotel in Shelby, NC near Royster Memorial Golf Course Adjacent to Cleveland Mall, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Shelby, North Carolina is less than five miles from nine challenging golf courses, including Woodbridge Golf Course and Royster Memorial Golf Course. This Shelby, NC hotel is also convenient to Kings Mountain Historical Museum. Charlotte is a short drive away.Guests of the Comfort Inn hotel are invited to relax in the sparkling seasonal outdoor pool, work out in the exercise room and utilize the fully-equipped business center.Additional amenities at this Shelby, NC hotel include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free daily newspaper •Free coffee Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, desk, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.The Comfort Inn offers a convenient location with easy access to area attractions. Whether traveling to the Shelby, North Carolina area for business or leisure, we offer the amenities you are looking for and the location you need. Make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Shelby Hotel Shelby
Shelby Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shelby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.