We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Shelby

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Shelby to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shelby
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2012 East Marion St, Shelby, NC 28150 (Formerly Hampton Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Shelby
Townsend, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at this Comfort Inn while attending a get-together with friends. The room was clean and comfortable. I love a room that has a chair comfortable enough to sit in and this one had TWO! One for relaxing, the other at the desk.
Extra pillows on each of the firm beds made finding a comfortable position easier.
A fridge & microwave were provided as was a coffee maker (the mini kind) and a hair dryer.

There were a couple items that I reported to the staff -- the door wouldn't close on its own. The top hinge was not tight, allowing the door to sag on the latch side. Traveling alone, that is a safety issue. I would have to be sure to push the door securely closed. The other item was the toilet seat. It was quite loose, again, screws that weren't tightened enough.

There was no smell of cigarettes smoke in the room, no musty, moldy odors.

It was just right!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeway, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

All staff members that I dealt with were perhaps the friendliest I've seen. You can tell by their attitude that they truly enjoy working at this hotel. The hotel was very clean, inside and out. I look forward to staying there again. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Margie Rainey
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very good property; formerly a Hampton. Hostess was friendly. Parking was ample and close to the mall and plenty of food nearby. Price was on the high side but not much else in Shelby. New Hampton under construction nearby. Clean room and good a/c. Would stay here again. Breakfast was similar to Hampton an walking distance to Denny's.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Margie Rainey
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had two rooms, four nights over Thanksgiving 2013. Everything was amazing. The rooms, the beds were the best, the manager was accessible from the moment we checked in till we checked out. Every employee took special care of us while there. I'd left something in the room and Rose went out of her way to go look for it, found it and helped me handle an unusual situation. Food was great, wonderful selection of hot foods, pastries, bagels, fruits and drinks. My daughter lives in the area and we will stay here every time we visit....thanks for everything!!

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the breakfast area...lots of delicious teas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Margie Rainey
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed for just one night when we went to my college homecoming. I previously had stayed when it was a Hampton. It was a nice hotel then and still is as a Comfort Inn. The rooms are nice with plenty of room. We did not spend a lot of time in the room but it was a comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was good and had lots of variety. The biscuits, gravy and eggs could have been better.
It is close to shopping and restaurants.
Overall we would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Margie Rainey
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was in excellent condition and the staff was friendly and efficient. A recent renovation left the bathroom will all new fixtures and counters. A variety of food choices nearby. Yes, it's a two-star hotel, but on the "good" side of two stars. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Margie Rainey
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was great. It is located in the parking lot of Cleveland Mall, not far from downtown Shelby or historic Kings Mountain. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, there was a hot breakfast, and the service was excellent. There are lots of stores nearby for shopping as well as family places to eat. We enjoyed our 2 night stay and would easily return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Shelby, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Margie Rainey
General Manger
Comfort INN, Shelby
704-482-5666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shelby

Address: 2012 East Marion St, Shelby, NC 28150 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shelby 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn hotel in Shelby, NC near Royster Memorial Golf Course Adjacent to Cleveland Mall, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Shelby, North Carolina is less than five miles from nine challenging golf courses, including Woodbridge Golf Course and Royster Memorial Golf Course. This Shelby, NC hotel is also convenient to Kings Mountain Historical Museum. Charlotte is a short drive away.Guests of the Comfort Inn hotel are invited to relax in the sparkling seasonal outdoor pool, work out in the exercise room and utilize the fully-equipped business center.Additional amenities at this Shelby, NC hotel include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free daily newspaper •Free coffee Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, desk, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.The Comfort Inn offers a convenient location with easy access to area attractions. Whether traveling to the Shelby, North Carolina area for business or leisure, we offer the amenities you are looking for and the location you need. Make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Shelby Hotel Shelby
Shelby Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Shelby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.