We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NiFen Bistro

NiFen Bistro
214 A South Lafayette Street, Shelby, NC 28150
+1 704-481-8882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Shelby
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
outside charlotte, nc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Friendly faces. Yummy food. Always satisfying!! :) The salmon is always a must. If you are able to attend a wine dinner, do so! You won't be sorry! They are always fabulous & fun :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, NC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant on a Thursday evening, and we had a fantastic experience. The owner seated us and our server was very attentive. In addition to the regular menu, which we found online, there were about 5 more daily specials, and they all sounded great. Our appetizer arrived quickly, and our main courses arrived in the perfect time and at the perfect temperature. My only issue (and a minor one at that) is that the wine portions were quite smaller the price. The food portions were very generous, and the taste and food quality were both excellent. This place is really a gem in a very small town setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“High expectations that were not met”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at the nearby Inn of the Patriots. The Ni Fen Bistro was highly recommended by the owners, and when we entered it seemed that it would meet our expectations. The staff and server were extremely friendly and the atmosphere -- which included an acoustic guitarists -- was very nice. The Asian spring rolls appetizer only increased our expectations, as they were excellent. Sadly, things went downhill from there.

After waiting about an hour for our food, the server came to our table and apologized, saying they had overcooked my wife's steak. So, they were preparing another one for her. After about another half hour or so, the food arrived. My wife's medium rare steak was actually well done. She didn't want to say anything, but the server came by and noticed the overcooked steak. She seemed genuinely perturbed. My salmon, on the other hand, was under-cooked and still a bit slimy. We didn't send anything back, however, nor did we complain.

To the restaurant's credit, the server completely waived our bill, even though we did not request this. We did enjoy the appetizer, atmosphere and guitarist, but the food was disappointing. To be fair, the restaurant was also serving a large party in the adjacent meeting room, so they may have been stretched thin. Perhaps we simply caught them on a bad night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Always Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The most wonderful Asian Salad! The dressing that they make is out of this world! The restaurant is very inviting, though I have to run in and get my lunch to go!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went to this restaurant on advise from local B&B. Expected much more being a Chef made the recommendation. I did not find the food to be anything more than average with less than average choices on the menu. Also did not have a local feel. Atmosphere again average, it did have a guitarist playing, that was a nice touch. The grilled vegetables was the best part of the meal. You did not have the typical sides offered with a steak, french fries and vegetables.
Steak did not have any particular taste, not very tender for a rib eye either. Steak was ample in size more than I could eat. Overall average. Not bad not great........

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NiFen Bistro also viewed

 

Been to NiFen Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NiFen Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.