We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had tried it sooner.....!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wing and Fish Company

Wing and Fish Company
4764 Main St, Shallotte, NC 28459
+1 910-754-9858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Shallotte
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a locally owned and operated restaurant. We pride ourselves on our food quality. We serve the freshest fish anywhere around. We know this because we catch the fish ourselves. If we don't have it, it's not biting! We have 7 big screen TV's around the restaurant so you can enjoy a wide array of sporting events while dining on any of our delicious menu options.
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wish we had tried it sooner.....!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've driven past Carolina Wing Company countless times....figured it was just wings and maybe burgers, so we would drive on past. Tonight we drove past, happened to see a chalkboard outside that said they had fresh snapper and mahi. That cued us that perhaps we were underestimating their menu. We turned around and came back. Didn't end up ordering the special, as the server told us it was just the fish on a salad. But my husband had the potato encrusted salmon, veg and rice pilaf. It was very, very good. I chose "Pam's Chicken Salad" sandwich on sourdough toast. Wonderful! It's a casual sports-bar type atmosphere, but the booths are comfortable. We will go back. Only negative was that of service. It was prompt, but the servers are young and appear to have little training as far as the menu and specials are concerned. We asked about a wine list and the girl just held onto it and told us the two brands. We asked to look at the list and she appeared a bit offended. Had to ask the prices and she said "oh, it would be about 5.00, 5.50, maybe 6.00 a glass"---why did she not know?! As we left, I noticed the inside board listed the fish specials as being complete dinners, which is not what one of the servers told us. We would have probably ordered one of the specials had she described them accurately. These young girls need basic training. The young man who actually brought our food was very professional. If he is the manager or assistant manager, he should impart his finesse to the other servers. If the servers present themselves as he did, and if all the other menu items are as good as what we had tonight, this restaurant will be a winner all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCM7911, Owner at Wing and Fish Company, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for coming in and giving us a chance. We take pride in being the only restaurant anywhere near here to actually sell fresh fish caught off our waters in Ocean Isle Beach. I am so sorry you weren't correctly informed of our specials. The server who waited on you was BRAND NEW and was probably extremely nervous. Thanks to your review, we are changing our training program and making it more intricate. We want our servers to be able to answer your questions with confidence. Your patronage is important to us and we hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    14
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends in a great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had dinner with 5 other couples on August 31. Our service was great... our waiter was fun and friendly! We ordered 4 different types of wings as an appetizer. Mild, Medium, Chipotle Ranch and Lemon Pepper. They were all very good but by far my favorite was the lemon pepper wings! You can't go wrong if you order those! We all enjoyed our entrees very much! The food just added to the fun atmosphere of high school friends being together. Please give the restaurant a try!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCM7911, Owner at Wing and Fish Company, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for coming in and sharing your positive experience. We certainly hope you and your group return soon for more lemon pepper wings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Burnt taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I dont have an axe to grind but the wings I just had left a burnt after taste like the oil in the fryer was old.Wasnt real pleasing.Hope they get better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCM7911, Owner at Wing and Fish Company, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I'm sorry for the burnt taste. This is the first I've heard of anything like this. Anytime you are not pleased with the taste, please let you server or a manager know and we will be happy to remake your food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food but they need to work on service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are locals and have tried the restaurant several times, as we like to support local businesses. The food in the past was average but under new ownership, the food has really improved. I had seafood both times and was very pleased, although my husband has a buffalo chicken sandwich which he said was awful. Our last visit was with a large group and although the food was good, our meals were very staggered despite the restaurant being practically empty. There was at least 20 minutes between the first person being served and the last person receiving their meal. What made it even worse, was the last person served was brought a wrong dinner and she had an even longer wait. A comment was made to one of the managers regarding the slow delivery and he replied, " we have noticed that"!!! Never apologized or offered to discount her meal.
I have noticed that the owner is reading these comments which I think is great... hope you can fix the slow kitchen before it effects your business. Shallotte needs some good restaurants!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCM7911, Owner at Wing and Fish Company, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your support of our restaurant. We are working so hard to make everything right and be a premiere restaurant for Shallotte. I'm so sorry your party was unable to enjoy your meal together. I'm usually the one standing in the kitchen timing the tickets to make sure they don't take too long. Long ticket times are not acceptable. Our Chef has been working to get the right combination of staff in the back. Please bear with us. Will will get it all fixed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Passed this place while in town, it looked like a fun place to stop. 50 cent wings were a hit allowing the option to try a variety! You can get them grilled versus fried which helps for those who are diet conscience. The honey garlic sauce is made w pure honey and is delish. The chipolte lime was tasty and the carribean dry rub was my favorite. Will DEF frequent when I come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMCM7911, Owner at Wing and Fish Company, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write something positive! Reviewers like you are why I enjoy my job! Looking forward to having you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wing and Fish Company also viewed

Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
 
Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Wing and Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wing and Fish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.