We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great layout, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Golf Club

River's Edge Golf Club
2000 Arnold Palmer Drive, Shallotte, NC 28407
877-748-3718
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Shallotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arnold Palmer designed layout was selected by Golf Magazine as one of the top 20 "Best New Courses that you can play" in the United States.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great layout, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This course is a true test. It requires that you play smart and manage your game. The staff was very friendly and the food was good as well. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants a memorable round. The scenery was spectacular. One of the most enjoyable rounds of golf I have had in a long time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    4
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great course with poor maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Played for first time with high expectations. Was not disappointed with the layout since there were many unique holes. However the maintenance of the fairways was below average and the sand traps were maybe the worst I have ever seen. At the high end price range I would NOT recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another fine Myrtle Beach (area) course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stopped on the way to MB itself to play River's Edge; a friend is a member. It's a very nice course, very fair and reasonably challenging. And the price was also reasonable, not always the way it is in the MB area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Play at least once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fantastic views....well maintained, Great staff from the Pro's in the shop to the carts guys and the starters. Lots of blind tee shots...not my favorite but all well planned out. Get a yardage book if it's your first time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

First of all the group I was in was making our first trip to Rivers Edge so no one in the group understood much of where to hit the ball, which is vital on this course. The yardage books help a tad but are not a replacement for having played the course before. Secondly, we played in early morning following a rainy day prior which made the course extremely wet early in the day. Nothing much the course or management could do about either of these things.

However, following the 13th hole we were scolded by the "ranger" about slow play. Saying we were 2 holes behind. Now let me say this, we were on a 4:15 hour pace, which for any beach course is completely in limits. To make it worst, there was NOONE behind us. From hole 6 through 18 we never saw anyone behind us yet somehow we are scolded for holding up the course? Wow. Talk about wanting your customers back. Give us your money and hurry up

Course was in good shape but honestly for me the greens were not. The grass is more like astro turf and SLOW.

Design is also awkward with most of our group hitting no more than 4 drivers ALL day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's Edge Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to River's Edge Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.