We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hula Girl Ice Cream and Grill

Hula Girl Ice Cream and Grill
106 W. Railroad Street, Selma, NC 27576
919-965-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Selma
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Steakhouse, Hot Dogs, Chicken Wings
Description: We feature daily lunch and dinner specials. The fried bologna (Hula Hunk) is a favorite as well as our "Brighleaf" hot dogs with homemade chili...best in town. Enjoy your meal with a glass bottle Sun Drop, RC Cola, or Nehi...just to name a few. Finish with a Banana Spilt or Moonpie Sunday or choose from our 40 flavors of Hershey Ice Cream. Check out our old fashioned candy by the pound.
Restaurant details
Description: We feature daily lunch and dinner specials. The fried bologna (Hula Hunk) is a favorite as well as our "Brighleaf" hot dogs with homemade chili...best in town. Enjoy your meal with a glass bottle Sun Drop, RC Cola, or Nehi...just to name a few. Finish with a Banana Spilt or Moonpie Sunday or choose from our 40 flavors of Hershey Ice Cream. Check out our old fashioned candy by the pound.
Selma, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Awesome family owned restaurant with friendly staff! They have great ice cream and good food. This place has that old time nostalgiac look and feel and their ice cream portions are HUGE. Only 5 minutes off of interstate 95.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Expierence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had lunch here after looking in the antique stores it was excellent. A nice little with awesome food and super friendly staff. My only regret is that I did not save room for the delicious looking Ice Cream.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a short detour off the interstate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The best milkshakes ever! Delicious red hots too. Fries a little dry. Fried bologna sandwich also good, according to husband. Great place for dogs and shakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home town feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Place was simple and clean. Staff were friendly and courteous . It did not take long for food to arrive, it is a grill. The price was a little high but I guess if you don't want franchise food it's a good place to stop at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great food, great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, wonderful owners!!! Have eaten here tons of times and all experiences have been excellent! We get ice cream, desserts, and meals here and all have been great!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Girl Ice Cream and Grill also viewed

Selma, North Carolina Coast
Smithfield, North Carolina Coast
 
Selma, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Hula Girl Ice Cream and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula Girl Ice Cream and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.