We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxapahaw General Store

Saxapahaw General Store
1735 Saxapahaw-Bethlehem Church Road, Saxapahaw, NC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Saxapahaw
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: A long established "hideaway"..actually located inside a general store, but offering gourmet American eclectic fare.
durham, nc
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is amazing-- a great place to eat located inside a little convenience store. Amazing menu, featuring local products, good wine choices, an outdoor patio-- all located in a little spot out in the country. One of my favorite places. Pizza Monday is great, too. Gluten-free choices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Saxapahaw is always worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have eaten at this wonderful hidden gem three times in the past 4 months. Each time it has been better than the last! But if you visit, particularly for dinner, be sure to wait for the specials board to go up......they are indeed special!!! This past Saturday with my wife and my son, visiting from San Francisco who we were introducing to NC, we had another incredible meal: A monster pork chop on a bed of sweet potatoes with a side of kale, delicious pork carnistas with mash potatoes and a side of spinach, and my wife had a chicken tarte with goat cheese and kale in a filo crust. We all negotiated back and forth to share one another's dish. And on Saturday's in the summer you can follow your meal with a free concert in the village park next to a farmer's market. What more could you want for a Saturday night..you must go!!!

Let me share one last meal from our previous visit: My wife had a goat burger with manchego cheese and an olive tapinade. Not only did she love it, and she normally does not eat red meat, but she has been watching for this special to repeat as she keeps an eye on the posted specials on line.

You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A superb eatery - in one of the most unlikeliest places.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Please note that my assigning 5 stars is based on our pleasant bewilderment of having eaten such delicious food - in of all places....a Convenience/General Store environment.

Folks, one of our favorite pastimes involves discovering out-of-the-way fine-dining environments. We've long since discovered that some of the most unique dining locations are often located within the many small towns peppered throughout the countryside. So when we kept hearing about this "5-star gas station" in the small village of Saxapahaw, it piqued our curiosity.

Since we live south of Raleigh, NC (Fuquay Varina), we discovered that the trip to the Saxapahaw General Store was just short of 50 minutes or so - a lovely trip. The countryside that you'll drive through is absolutely gorgeous with many historical and pastoral scenes.

Upon arriving at the General Store, we were taken aback at it's rather generic Convenience Store/General Store appearance. One would never suspect that within lies a superb kitchen that puts out dishes that one normally would only experience in fine-dining restaurants. But here's where the difference ends. Remember, this is a convenience store environment, although the items that they sell on the store shelves are more gourmet in nature. And yes, they put tables and booths in the aisleways - along with an outdoor eating area.

We arrived shortly after having visiting the lovely little winery - Benjamin Vineyards - which is located just 1.2 miles from the general store. If you haven't already visited the Benjamin Vineyards, by all means do so - lovely mix of European and French/American wines.

When we arrived - and not ever having visited this general store - we first had to figure out the procedure in which to order food. After entering this establishment, you are greeted with the kitchen and register to the left. Straight ahead are a variety of menus and the daily specials (specials, that one would normally find in fine-dining places). From there you get your drinks (whether iced tea, soft drinks,etc.), choose which menu item you'd like, and then you proceed to the register to pay for the meal(s). Then you just go sit down and eventually one of the waitresses (if that's even the proper term for this establishment) bring you the food. No bells and whistles - no million dollar views - just food that will have you shaking your head in disbelief at the variety of flavors that the kitchen manages to balance out!

With such a fine daily specials menu, I was perplexed at what the order - they all sounded so tasty. So I wound up ordering the Pico Suave Burger which included around a half-pound burger, covered with a variety of organic veggies, avocado, mexican peppers, spices, onions and tomatos, and topped off with a fried egg - all placed on a unique, very tasty home-made bun. It must of all been stacked 5" high, but wow - the flavors, the tenderness. I just kept moaning at how good all of this was. My wife and our friends ordered different dishes and they were also equally amazed at how good the food was.

It's so well known that foodies from all over NC (and South Carolina) make the trip to eat meals there. And yes, they serve Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. So this place has garnered quite the legend for consistently fine fare.

But once you're done eating, there's more to see. Located within the same strip complex are a variety of business and a small school - and the increasing famous and popular Haw River Ballroom, located within a renovated Old Mill Building that features 3 levels overlooking the stage area. Here, many performances are conducted by various local and visiting musicians and other plays. It's become the talk of the town - so please stop by (just a 2 minute wall from the General Store) to check it out (plus they have a gourmet coffee shop right inside of the Ball Room (it's not really a ball room - although it's called as such - rather, it's a performance center). Grab your cup of Joe and relax on of the many chairs out on the open deck area overlooking the Haw River.

So folks, if you enjoy taking one-day trips like we do - thereby enabling us to discover different parts of central North Carolina that are at a stone's throw distance, then by all means check out this wonderful eatery and the cute facilities that surround this location. It will make for a wonderful morning or afternoon (or full day) trip (and yes, again - be sure to check out the Benjamin Vineyards around the corner).

I've uploaded some photos showing the General Store, Ball Room, and the Art Gallery that is just right down the street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The menu from the grill is much more ecclectic than you'd expect from your normal country store. And the snacks and drinks on the shelves are downright gourmet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STALEY,NC
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch on the river!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ate here for the first time this past Sunday. . What an amazing experience. The food, the people, the water, MMmmm!!!! Hubby got the local beef dogs all the way , Mmmm and I had the steak foccacia w/ grilled onions and mushrooms. Oh my. We took them to go and ate down by the water. I think we will return next week. Thank you for a great first experience in Saxapahaw. We will return and tell our friends.
The store is small, and not alot of seating, but plenty of outdoors. Grab a beer and enjoy your food. The prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saxapahaw General Store also viewed

Saxapahaw, NC
Saxapahaw, NC
 

Been to Saxapahaw General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxapahaw General Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.