We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Condo-Good learning to ski /snowboard resort for kids” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley to your Saves list
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley
70 Sapphire Valley Road, Sapphire, NC 28774   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sapphire
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing Condo-Good learning to ski /snowboard resort for kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I was very disappointed with the condo unit at this resort. The floorplan was very odd - we were in the 1 bdrm unit. You walk in and the living area is very small. You then walk down a flight of stairs to the kitchen and bedroom. It was not designed for a family to stay together. The furniture is very dated (80's decor) and shabby. The bed, pillows and sheets were very tired. I think the stove was the original from when the condo was built and smoked heavily when used. The unit did have a stackable washer/dryer that came in handy.

This is a good resort for the kids to learn to ski/snowboard. There is only 1 lift so it is okay for beginners. I would not come to this resort if you are an advanced skiier looking for challenging blue or black diamond runs.

The rec center was good for the kids. They have a pool table (.75 cents/game) and a couple ping pong tables that entertained the kids for hours. The put put golf and ping pong tables are free. They have a nice size tot lot and basketball courts across the street from the rec center. They do have a couple computers in the rec center to use and it is WIFI if you bring your own laptop.

There is an Ingles grocery store a few miles away if you plan to cook or store up on food.
Bucks in Cashiers is a nice coffee house. We did visit Highlands and enjoyed the Main street as well as Dillsboro to see the Old Square. The highlight of the trip was the Biltmore esteate in Asheville. It took almost 2 hours to get to Asheville driving through all the winding roads and mountain towns. Next time we will stay in Asheville as there is a lot to see and do there.

We would not consider staying at this resort again until it is completely updated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

I too didn't know what to expect, but once I got there. I was completely satisfied. The rooms are nice and clean an spacious. The sites are wonderful. Waterfalls everywhere. No traffic, Not a lot of people. I Truly enjoyed my week in the mountains. Will definitely be returning. I loved every aspect of it. Thanks Wyndham.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We had a one bedroom lock-off in Laurel Villas, so there was some noise by others in the building which could be heard. Hovever, it was not unexpected and not inconvenient. Condo was clean with one balcony and did have laundry. We golfed every day at Red Robin except one day we did gem mining at the resort. Resort had the usual amenities and we had wireless internet in the condo.
Resort is somewhat isolated, alcohol can be purchased next to Mica's restaurant.
I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, ok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed a week at Wyndham Sapphire Valley. I had no idea what we were getting into when we booked the condo. It was a two bedroom two bath. The rooms were very spacious and the kitchen had been updated new stove, blender, ice box etc. The area is very rural which we liked. I can see where some would not be satisfied it is a large complex. Some condos might be 3 miles from the recreation center. If you go don't expect to shop at sax it is rural. However to tell you how much beautiful scenery there is, Last of the Mohicans was shot in that area. If you are worried don't be, if nothing else the scenery would make up for the resort which we thought was very nice. You should have a car and be in good enough physical condition to see the sights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

My pre-arrival confirmation stated there would be a whirlpool, there was no whirlpool. The walls to the adjoining room were paper-thin, the family next door had three young children, it was so noisy I thought were in the same room. The bed had a very poor mattress, the sofa and chairs were also very uncomfortable, my wife came home with a sore back. Upon departure the front desk had little to say about these conditions except: sorry.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Once we got past checking in (check-in was awful and ridiculous) Fox Hunt is absolutely wonderful. We have a cable modem in our 3-level unit so we have our much needed Internet, the accommodations are exactly our country style and so very nice. The inside looks much nicer than outside which needs a little work. It's quiet, peaceful, clean and we love it here. The kitchen even has granite counters. Our king sized bed has the most comfortable mattress! The area is beautiful. When you come here, be sure to drive to Bryson City and take the train trip - it was wonderful. We definitely want to return to Fox Hunt at Wyndham in Sapphire Valley.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Didn't know quite what to expect when I booked this stay through an exchange with RCI. Turned out I didn't have a thing to worry about. We had a two bedroom unit that fulfilled all our needs and then some. We drove to this place from the DC area. It was about a nine hour drive, but it was a very scenic drive so time passed swiftly. The resort is located in the mountains of North Carolina. The resort has a lot of activities to participate in if you so desire; but you can also do absolutely nothing if you want. There's a grocery store about five miles from the resort, but there is also some good restauants close by. The shopping wasn't too bad either, but if you're looking for high end or designer shops you won't find them here. There's also an Indian reservation with a casino not too far away. All in all, a very pleasant, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley

Address: 70 Sapphire Valley Road, Sapphire, NC 28774
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Sapphire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sapphire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Sapphire Valley Hotel Sapphire
Sapphire Valley Nc
Fairfield Sapphire Valley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.