We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley to your Saves list
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Sapphire Valley Road, Sapphire, NC 28774   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sapphire
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun Family Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Enjoyed our visit very much. The "condo" itself was perfect, with an excellent kitchen, dining room, living room, and bedroom. The amenities were also wonderful, with ping pong and games, indoor pool, and gym at the rec center, as well as a large rec area outside. We also enjoyed the skiing and tubing that was on-site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SUNSET BEACH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time and enjoyed everything about this property!! The staff, especially John, the manager, and Matthew went above and beyond to assure we had a perfect vacation!!! The property is a little bit older but is well maintained with an obvious committment being made to upgrade wherever possible. The resort ammenities are also very nice. The area surrounding the resort has lots of fantastic hiking, kayaking and golfing available. The local restaurants are also great!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming , Ga.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

When we first arrived we went to the Wyndham desk and found out we had to go across the street to check in at sapphire management. When we got there and checked in they informed us we had to go another 1.7 miles down the road to our condo. Not the miles away another reviewer stated but still a pain. That is where the pain ended though. We arrived at a lovely 2 story condo with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The 2 floors also had large decks overlooking beautiful grounds and a golf course. The units are not brand new by any stretch but everything was spotless and well maintained. The resort is over 700 acres so you need a car to enjoy it all which means having to drive less than 2 miles back to the pool and rec center is no big deal. We love this resort and the area and all of it's charm and lovely people and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you are a Wyndham owner, you should know the current policy regarding unit assignment is ironclad and boilerplate. If you book to arrive on Friday, then you will not be housed in the Mountain Laurel complex adjacent to the Community and Recreation Centers. A Sunday arrival, however, will likely get you there. The other facilities are miles away from the amenities.

Otherwise, I have nothing but good to say about the many events/opportunities present in the beautiful mountainous area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Ok, so I have done quite a bit of travelling in my life and have stayed at several Wyndham resort locations. None of my experiences would have prepared me for the dismal stay my husband and I had at this location. First of all it was our honeymoon and We were both stoked for a week long get away at a wydham where we usually experience amazing service and wonderful accomodations.
Our stay began on a bad note. we had to go back and forth to the office 5 times to try and get a room key to the right room. first our key did not work, then the key we recieved welcomed us into a lovely room which was already occupied by a very friendly couple who had checked in the day before. then we had a different room assigned to us and the key did not work 2 more times, finally the front desk clerk said the door needed to be 'unfrozen'. he came to the room and plugged a computer thing into the door, viola it opened. Well in the meantime it had started raining and I slipped and injured my knee and foot, they have slippery wood walkways up to the rooms and no type of grippers on them. Then when the clerk opened the door he left without giving us any keys! oh yeah, he apologized about my slip and said to contact a manager if I was still in pain the next day.
Well I guess he decided that a report did need to be filed so he sent a member of the local police department to our door to take care of this issue. by now it is after dark and we have a coop standing at our door. The officer took the report and contacted the on call person for the resort to get someone to bring us keys. the same clerk brought us the keys and insinuated that I had misplaced the others, as if I was causing him some sort of inconvenience. (mathew was his name by the way)
Well after all that was straightened out we went about our time there with minimal other incidents. However, any other wyndham I have stayed at has gone head over heels to ensure a pleasurable stay, checking in on us asking if there is anything they can do for us, etc. The manager did not even call us to see if I was ok or to apologize for the incident. Well there were several other 'miscommunications' between various people that caused us frustration and irritation. needless to say we will NEVER stay here again. I also have informed several other wynham platinum members to plan vacations elsewhere. the only reason it got a 2 instead of a 1 was because the surroundings were beautiful. Oh and dont pay the resort to take you anywhere if you stay there, it is cheaper and easier to just drive yourself, plus the driver we had sped through the mountains like a madman. he made at least 2 people vomit and at least 4 others extreamly sick to their stomach. I understand he may be used to the area roads but as a shuttle driver he should take into account his passengers. it costs an extra $20 per person to ride the shuttle anywhere.
oh and if your young this is not the hotel for you but there is a lot to do if your into outdoorsy stuff (hiking, rafting, etc), and if your older and want to do more than lounge, the area is probably not the best due to the high amount of very physical activities that are about all there is unless you want to drive several hours each way.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom mountain laural condo and it was cozy but nice. bring your own firewood f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We've been coming to Sapphire Valley since the late 70's, when the kids were still at home. We've had various relatives join us over the years & always have a fun, relaxing time. We like to visit the little towns, Cashiers, Highlands, Brevard & even Bat Cave, A trip to Ashville & the Biltmoe is always fun. We've never been here in the winter, but have enjoyed the other seasons, staying in at least a 2 BR Fairfield or Wynndam unit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Mountain Laurel Condo I stayed in was only a short walk to the recreation center-a great location for a family with kids. The resort requires a car but has everything within a short drive: a lovely lake with rowboat rentals, an executive golf course and a fine championship course. An excellent Ingles supermarket is a 5 minute drive. The county is no longer dry so wines are available at the market. The Gamekeeper's Tavern is also a 5 minute drive and offers a very unusual menu consisting of Kangeroo, Elk, Venison, Sushi and the usual beef dishes. The area is known for hiking and waterfalls-Highlands is half an hour away with it's excellent Main street. A very nice getawayindeed!

Room Tip: Try to get a condo close to the recreation center (Mountain Laurel lock-off-the A side is one level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sapphire
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
9.5 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
9.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
9.4 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley

Address: 70 Sapphire Valley Road, Sapphire, NC 28774
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Sapphire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sapphire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Sapphire Valley Hotel Sapphire
Sapphire Valley Nc
Fairfield Sapphire Valley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.