We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Major Problems, Close to Amazing Scenery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Forest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sapphire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairway Forest
Save
You added Fairway Forest to your Saves list
4350 Highway 64 W, Sapphire, NC 28774   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“No Major Problems, Close to Amazing Scenery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Enjoyed our Memorial Day weekend at Fairway Forest, which a colleague booked through their RCI timeshare. Fairway Forest is one of several developments connected to the Sapphire Valley Master Association, which means you have access to shared amenities across other Sapphire communities, such as swimming pools (indoor and out), community center and game room, fairfield lake trail and boat house, private swimming ponds, etc. None of these amenities are within walking distance of the condos, but they are close, within 5 minutes drive. The Fairway Forest condos are 1980's-era, two-story, four-unit blocks, lining various holes of the Sapphire National golf course. There are some mountain views from some units, but mostly the condos look out onto a golf course and trees--no major mountain views. At the end of the main golf course drive is the Sapphire Mountain Brewing Company, which is a sports-bar type restaurant serving, beers, pizza, burgers, etc. You could walk to this from some units, but the terrain is VERY hilly, so if you are located far away and elderly, you will probably need to drive to this restaurant too. Another thing about these units--some of them are located down hillsides, with TONS of steps, so if you are elderly, be prepared to haul your luggage and supplies up and down lots of stairs. The units themselves are not bad. Could use a little updating (1980's-era kitchens and baths, and some dated furniture pieces), but overall not in bad shape. And we didn't see any bugs or rodents, so they seem to have a reasonable pest control service. Mostly clean in that regard. The kitchen was reasonably stocked for a rental, with the expected dishes and pots-pans in good shape. Our two bedroom unit had decks on both levels looking out onto a golf course. The master bedroom is on the lowest level down more steps, with a very large bathroom and 2-3 person jetted tub. The shower in the master bathroom was Euro-sized with room for half of one person--too small! The master bed had a memory foam mattress, which is okay if that is your thing. The condos have been recently "upgraded" with DVD players and free wifi - internet access, which they don't advertise very well. This was very nice to have. Another thing they don't advertise very well is check-in, which if you are coming from Brevard on 64 west, is 2 miles past the units, just past the Hampton Inn, on the right, in a building generically marked "management." You can thank me later. :-) Not easy to find! Look for the Hampton Inn. In terms of location, the units are 4-5 miles from Cashiers and lots of shops and restaurants, and another 15 or so miles to the cute town of Highlands with even more touristy shops and restaurants. You are surrounded by waterfalls in all four directions, so you will have no trouble driving around and getting to loads of short trails and waterfalls. Another nice thing about this area is the sheer rock faces on the sides of many mountains. If you drive a half mile down 64 to the private Fairfield Lake, there is a beautiful view over the lake and up to a rock-faced mountain side, Bald Mountain. Absolutely beautiful, and a great place to spend an afternoon with boat rentals, swimming beach, picnic tables, etc. The next valley up the road, Lonesome Valley, has more rock-faced mountains, but the valley is largely private with million dollar homes and a locked gate. You can always splurge on the overpriced Canyon Grill in Lonesome Valley, or not. In summary, nice units, great location, something for everyone in the family from hiking to golf to swimming. Come and enjoy!

Room Tip: If you are elderly, keep in mind some of these condos have 20-30 steps from the parking lot to the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Mother/Daughter week in the mountains of North Carolina was great!. The condo at Fairway was nice with a view overlooking the golf course with mountains behind.

Sapphire's season does not really start until after Memorial Day so some shops/restaurants were not open but plenty were for us to enjoy ourselves.

The condo was nice, recently renovated. Pretty standard decor. Room with twin beds on main level with full bath. Open and roomy kitchen/dining/living areas. Had breakfast on the balcony every morning. King bed on lower level with large tub, separate shower, outside exit.

Downstairs shower didn't work when we arrived on Saturday. Maintenance came on Monday AM. Turns out faucet was new and stiff to turn, Late check in was easy.

Very good restaurant on site, Sapphire Brewing Company. NO activities on site for children that we could see. Very quiet in April, not crowded at all.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-5 have nice views of golf course and mountains. Not sure of other units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I received a week vacation gift from her aunt to Fairway Forest. We were amazed at all the beautiful water falls and great hiking trails. If you like getting out and exploring nature this is the place for you. Some of the trails are strenuous and steep but worth the effort. The condo was very comfortable and spacious, especially for just two people. We will definitely visit here again. It is hard to do all the activities you want to do in just one week. I recommend taking the bus tour to get a feel of the land. At $20 a person for a 5 hour trip you can't beat it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I were pleasantly thrilled with our accommodations at the Fairway Forest timeshare in Sapphire. Balconies on two levels had us feeling like we were in a tree house. The master bedroom and bathroom is on the lower level. The jacuzzi tub is more like a small pool with a full window overlooking the woods. The unit is spacious, functional, clean and comfortable. Televisions are in the living room and both bedrooms - although they are old and only one was a small flat screen. The recreation area has tons of activities and the staff is very helpful - although it is not walking distance. Cashiers is nearby and has all the amenities you will need besides interesting shops and good restaurants. The leaves are just changing and the temperature has dropped. My husband has an inviting fire going by breakfast. We have had a fabulous visit and look forward to coming back next year.

Room Tip: Try to get an end unit away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

After reading the negative reviews we were concerned about our visit. However, once we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised. The unit was clean, well funished, ample supplies and very comfortable. We played golf at the course, which for us Florida folks was a challenge but well enjoyed. Other than an easy check in and out we had no contact with the resort staff. Our only disappointment was that our unit was on a golf hole but we were unable to see the fairway due to the numerous trees between us and the fairway....just a small disappointment.
The resort provides many amenities but we choose to only use the golf...maybe next time we will try some of the water sports.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I visited this timeshare the week of July 22. We traded our timeshare for thsi one through RCI. We were leary due some of the reviews. Maybe it was the unit or the week, but we had a wonderful stay at Fairway Forest. The unit was clean, rugs were clean, supplies were ample, and there were flat screen tv's in the living room and guest bedroom areas. Downstairs, there was an enormous circular whirlpool tub. There was a washer/dryer in a closet size space downstairs. The only thing I wish they supplied was a wire whisk for mixing potatoes or pancakes. There was damage to the tabletop of the upper desk's table, but otherwise, things were fine. I was also concerned for my phone did not work at the check in place, but things were fine in the unit. We only had one question during our stay, which was promptly answered. Mid-week, someone did call to say they wanted to drop off our welcome gift, being timeshare owners, we knew what it meant. We did allow the visit. There was no hard sell, but information on what was available. Then, he was promptly off. The area was quiet. Our view was of the woods but that was fine too. There is no mid-week cleaning. We went to Highland a couple of days, went to Brevard and Cashiers a couple of days, visited Cherokee a day, and visited Asheville for a day. We did our own trip to the Biltmore so that we could tour the area afterwards. We saw most of the waterfalls mentioned. As for the community center, we just drove by it. When we didn't stay in to cook, we were off visiting the surrounding areas. All in all, we would return and would hope to have the same experience with the unit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I came to fairway forest based on the recomadation of wydham vacation resorts . My wife and I are very disappointed in the service from the front office and maintenance over broken remotes plus a non working jacuzzi . The maintenance man said he would fix and doesn't . The next day my wife sees him and he told her he was looking for his boss to get his approval . No one contacted us to give us any updates . No one put any note under our door to keep us in the loop . We also called on each remote as they did not work . The unit had cobwebs and dirt here which was reported . I spoke woth John woods , the local Wyndham mgr and he refused to help or make calls to fairway forest . I got no help or anyone there showing ownership to fix this problem . I have never seen such uncaring or unhelpful people . They have no idea about pride in workmanship or helping a time share owner of wyndham . I don't recommend this facility unless you hire someone to check out the unit before you come . The place has no management team in there who wants to care for the people on vacation . We must add that we did not enjoy our stay and plan on not returning there unless it is brought under new management. It's very sad to see a nice area have uncaring folk in key positions running the facility. Very sad and such a waist.
Howard Lincoln.

.

Room Tip: My feeling is stay away until they clean the units and update the old tv sets With working remotes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Forest

Address: 4350 Highway 64 W, Sapphire, NC 28774
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Sapphire
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sapphire
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Fairway Forest Hotel Sapphire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.