We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Challenge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Road Golf Club

Tobacco Road Golf Club
442 Tobacco Road, Sanford, NC 27332
877-284-3762; 919-775-1940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 attractions in Sanford
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This course threads through a former sand quarry and has the feel of a maze.
Woodstock, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a Challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I'm a 24 handicap and thoroughly enjoyed playing this course. It's unique design required a thoughtful approach to each shot. I will definitely return when in Pinehurst.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conway, SC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It's a must play for any golfer, no mater what your handicap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently played at Tobacco Road with my son and a mutual friend. Needless to say, prior to going I went on line to review the animated video, and was NOT looking forward to playing this course. For a high handcapper like myself, it did not look like the place to play. I figured that I was doomed to a day of lost balls and shear frustration. I could see where a low handicap golfer would get a massive challenge out of it, but not an older short hitter like me.

Well, let me just say that I was wrong. Yes, the course has many challenging holes, and I do mean challenging, but with the yardage book and some common sense play, it's not that bad. Look, even I broke 100 on my first go around, and when we played two day later, I almost broke 90. Yes, the greens for the most part are a mess due to a bad infestation they had on most of them, but we were warned of that before we played.

Absolutely one of the most visually stunning courses I have ever played. Any golfer who likes even a small challenge will love this place. 100% recommended to play at least once in your lifetime!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoy the Mike Stranz courses to get a break from the traditional course. Be ready for a great course visually with some tough shots requiring pinpoint accuracy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unusual but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The course was a challenge. It required pinpoint accuracy on shots to most greens.There were a number of blind shots. The greens were not in tip top shape because of the heavy rains this summer. I can't wait to play it again! Barbecue sandwich is a must.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tobacco Road golf course is like no other. You must see it and play it to believe it. Great scenery and a hoot to play - you won't be sorry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Road Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Tobacco Road Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Road Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tobacco Road Golf Club to your Saves list