We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After just one visit I've found my new favorite spot in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Steele Pig

The Steele Pig
133 South Steele Street, Sanford, NC 27330-4233
919-777-9963
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 111 Restaurants in Sanford
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“After just one visit I've found my new favorite spot in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

With a casual yet classy atmosphere I can see why this local restaurant is a favorite place for so many people in the area to dine. You must try thier house favorite shrimp and grits or the giant hickory smoked beef short rib! Can't wait to go back and see what the chef has planned for next week!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recent Date Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I recently had dinner at the Steele Pig. The pulled pork was tender and delicious. The service was friendly and courteous. We enjoyed a great tasting slice of chocolate-pecan pie for dessert. Coffee was enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to Sanford to visit relatives and take them out to dinner. I looked into the Steele Pig before we traveled there. It sounded interesting. Being from New England, there aren't too many southern food restaurants, so we wanted to give it a try. Well we loved it. The service was great and the food delicious. The appetizer of wings was real good and the shrimp with grits I gave a thumbs up. The place is small and quaint and I asked for a nice table to celebrate an anniversary, so they gave us a table by the window which was perfect because we felt we had our own area and privacy. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This pig died gently”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice people. Tenderest pork I ever had. Best sides to boot (grits and sophisticated baked beans). Finished with chocolate pecan pie. I too shall die gently. Like the pig.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We looked forward to this after a day of touring Raliegh, it was out of our way but we anticipated a real " experience". We were there ealy (5:00 p.m.), the place was empty, and we got very attentive service. The ribs for my S.O. were good but had a heavy coat of dry rub under the sauce, in places. I had the Hickory smoked pulled pork and I can HONESTLY say that it was the driest and least tflovorful of ANY that I have EVER eaten. I gave some to my S.O. in exchange for a taste of her 5 Hour Smoked beef ribs and left 1/2 of the rest on my plate. The maitre'D took my plate with nary a question or inquiry as to my dining experience so to say the least we will never go back or recommend anything about the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steele Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Steele Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steele Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.