We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashion grille in Historic Saluda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ward's Grill

Ward's Grill
24 Main St, Saluda, NC 28773 (Formerly Ward's Dairy Bar & Grill)
+1 828-749-2321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Saluda
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Charlotte,NC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good old fashion grille in Historic Saluda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

it is the only place open on Monday so if you are driving up I 26 and want to check out historic Saluda this would be your choice. I would try the hamburgers and the service is great...we did not select the hamburger and wish we had. The chicken salad was ok but it only came with one piece of lettuce (not the bed of lettuce as stated on the menu) But I would try it again and go for the burger. It is a classic and attached to the country type store with a butcher store/grocery store etc. which was fun to shop!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Saluda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend in Saluda and ended up eating at the grill 3 times! Breakfast is just like grandma used to make and the homemade sausage was the best I've ever tasted. It was so good we decided to return the next day for breakfast even though our hotel included breakfast! We decided we wanted to try the cheeseburger so we came back for a late lunch. We were not disappointed. The cheeseburger was delicious and the homemade milkshake topped off the meal. We enjoyed the small town atmosphere and felt like we were visiting Mayberry. What a great visit!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We like to stop at Ward's Grill for breakfast on the way to visit Western Carolina. It feels almost like stepping out of time; nostalgic. Not far off the highway and a great place to sit and have some more coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Saluda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Always have breakfast here when in Saluda. The only original restaurant in town, it is a trip back in time. The homemade sausage is the thing to order, and you can take some with you from the old general store, Thompson's, that is connected.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Portions Skimpy--Not The Nostalgic Diner It Once Was”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This use to be the place to be in Saluda. Their hamburgers were inspiring to other grills and their service quick and diner-style terrific. Those days of the past seem to be behind us. I visited the revamped location with my mother and witnessed first hand a group of greasy fire-fighter rednecks eating huge hamburgers at an apparent constantly reserved table.... when our hamburgers came they were microscopic under the bun. It was more than obvious the poor manager and wait-staff had it out for anyone that was not local or in "the local clique". This is no way to run a small-town diner that could be something to come to for those out-of-towners. My advise is to go back to the way this diner use to be in its glory years or it faces sadly disappearing forever. Friendly service-- no matter who walks through the door, better portions, cleaner workers/grill area, more locals photographs on the wall, and cooks that know what they are doing. I can't in good conscience give this grill an above "Terrible" rating with the mean experience I witnessed. In my youth, though, this place was something to be remembered for sure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r clark t, Owner at Ward's Grill, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Referring to some of our customers (first responders) as "greasy fire-fighter rednecks" is a rather unseemly comment and reflects poorly on the trip advisor's objectivity. We take pride in serving all of our customers with respect, from blue collar to white collar. Regarding cleanliness, our Health Department sanitary rating of 99 is the highest in the area. All of our 5 oz burger patties are hand made daily using 81/19 Angus beef, so unless the advisor ordered a child's burger, his was the same size as the firefighters were eating.

Finally, our Grill and wait staff receive constant praise from customers for their friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ward's Grill also viewed

Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Ward's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ward's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.