We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenic in every way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ward's Grill

Ward's Grill
24 Main St, Saluda, NC 28773 (Formerly Ward's Dairy Bar & Grill)
+1 828-749-2321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Saluda
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Authenic in every way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

You want authentic cooking and service? Here it is. We had the cheeseburger and sweet potato fries. My husband has a chocolate milk shake. Wow. This brings you back to the lunch counter days. The locals were eating there. This place is the real deal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Today we went to Ward's for lunch. I agree with another reviewer: one of the best hamburgers I've ever had. This grill is just what it is, and is not posing as a a "cute" retro place; it comes across as real, and for what it is, has great food. It is not "fast" food in any sense of the word, but the wait is worth it for us. There are many locals and regulars who eat there as well as travelers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Country Cooking With Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great country breakfast offerings with a friendly staff. Locals in the grill were equally friendly, adding to the overall experience. We enjoyed the meal and the time spent here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, Nc
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cute little restaurant in cute little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

No trip to Saluda would not be complete without visiting Wards. Fresh breakfast and yummy sandwiches are on this menu. Next store, you can buy super fresh meat, produce and homemade meals (delish!) I am crazing pot pie....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best hamburger ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Managed to get in for lunch just before closing and ordered a hamburger. I think it's the best hamburger I ever ate! Very juicy. Returned for breakfast the next morning. Pretty good but the omelet was not as good as Wildflour's.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ward's Grill also viewed

Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Ward's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ward's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.