We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little restaurant with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saluda Grade Cafe

Saluda Grade Cafe
40 E Main St, Saluda, NC 28773-7817
828-749-5854
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Saluda
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly little restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

From simple sandwiches to gourmet meals this is the place to go. From the owner Kay, to all the wait staff, you could not find a nicer restaurant staff anywhere. And the food is outstanding. Kay keeps the menu updated and yet retains favorites like the crazy squirrel salad. One of my favorite places for meatloaf too!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, quiet and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a helpful and cheerful waitress, and for a late lunch on a Saturday, there weren't many people in the restaurant. The food took a little while to come out but it was freshly prepared so we didn't mind. The tomato soup really wasn't very good, and it was almost cold by the time we each got our cup of it. Liked the cups it was served in though! The sandwiches were AMAZING though and would be worth coming back for again! Cost-efficient for lunch, and a friendly and artsy atmosphere. Right in the heart of the small downtown too, and convenient to the famous Saluda Grade railway path to walk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent Food - Every Single Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Everytime we are in town, Saluda Grade Cafe is our FAVORITE restaurant for dinner and Sunday brunch. The food is consistently fantastic, the service is wonderful, and the atmosphere is inviting. Music on Friday nights is a must! Our son loves Kaye's special Mac & Cheese! Treat yourself to the Saluda Grade Cafe. You will return time and time again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old artsy dining room with contemporary touch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We originally had planned to return to the Purple Onion for lunch, but found that it was closed on Wednesdays. So, we went to the Saluda Grade Café for the first time. We like that we were told we could sit anywhere. Menus and water were brought promptly. We ordered coffee, to start, but no spoons. The lunch sandwich menu is quite limited. One had the roast beef sandwich au jus, smothered with melted provolone cheese, which was proclaimed "very good". The other had the 6 oz. burger with cheddar nicely melted over the top, on a heavenly grilled bun that stayed nice and firm while chowing down on the delicious grilled, juicy burger which was a 5 star! The only side choices offered were standard wavy potato chips or red cabbage cole slaw, nothing special.

I wouldn't call this an upscale restaurant, but there was nice, soothing music playing in the background. Our server was nice, but was the only one working that day, so was a little slow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a locally owned and operated restaurant with a wide variety of offerings. Always well-priced and well-presented and FRIENDLY staff!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saluda Grade Cafe also viewed

Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Saluda Grade Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saluda Grade Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.