We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saluda Grade Cafe

Saluda Grade Cafe
40 E Main St, Saluda, NC 28773-7817
828-749-5854
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 restaurants in Saluda
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Some of the best food I have had. Today my server ran out of the cafe to give a customer their sunglasses, talk about service! This is hidden jewel in Saluda, due yourselves a favor and eat at this cafe

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    36
    20
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overlooked restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I love to vacaton in Saluda, staying at the small and lovely Charles Street Garden Suite. We have always made a point to eat at the Purple Onion or travel to Hendersonville; we ignored Saluda Grade Cafe because of our assumptions that it was an older cafe and wouldn't be at all what we wanted. Last fall we happened to visit during the one week during the year that the P Onion was closed, and our hosts highly recommended the Cafe.

We were quite pleased with the food and the service. We are going this fall also and will plan to eat there several times.

In reading other reviews, it seems to me that the majority of the unfavorable reviews were for lunch. We'll try it also for lunch this time and give more specific reviews.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I wish we lived closer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been to this restaurant twice with our sons when we visited them at Boy Scout camp and each time we had excellent food and friendly service. The Saluda Grade Cafe is located in a small group of storefronts, and looks like the kind of place where you'd go for burgers and fries. However, its menu contains imaginative combinations that you might expect at a more expensive, special occasion restaurant. We've tried crabcakes, pork chops, burgers, porcini mushroom ravioli and several desserts and have never been disappointed. I only wish we lived closer so that we could visit more often.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good BBQ and service at the Saluda Grade Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had some good BBQ ther and the service from Dorrie and Amber was quite pleasant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Friendly, comfortable, excellent menu with more than reasonable prices. It's like going back in time with great service.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saluda Grade Cafe also viewed

Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Saluda Grade Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saluda Grade Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.