We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family Gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saluda Inn

Saluda Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saluda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saluda Inn
Save
You added Saluda Inn to your Saves list
229 Greenville Street, Saluda, NC 28773   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Saluda B&B and Inns
Saluda, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Family Gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We rented the inn for a family wedding weekend in June and found it to be a perfect place for the families and friends of the bride and groom to gather, celebrate and get to know each other. The kitchen is large and well equipped and the front and side porches are natural gathering spots. The inn comfortably slept almost 40 people and having the Wine Bar with live music and an excellent wine master, was a big plus. We are considering having a family reunion at the inn next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Eight or nine years ago, I heard from two separate Charleston friends about their visits to a great inn in Saluda, N.C. We checked it out and have been coming here at least once a year--sometimes twice-- since then. The inn is a perfect place to get together with friends for a long weekend. We gather for cocktails on the big front porch, cook family meals in the large kitchen, and then have fun feasts in the dining room.
Saluda is a charming little town with some nice restaurants and shops and just a five minute walk down the hill.
Joni and Rich do a great job making us feel welcome, making sure we have everything we need and if we ever do need anything, they are either downstairs in the wine bar or just down the hill at their home or wine store.
My only hesitation is writing about how great this place is: I'm afraid too many people will love it as much as my friends and I do and then we won't be able to book it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Twenty-nine extended family members celebrated birthdays of the oldest (92) and youngest (3) on the first weekend of April. We have rented homes in SC and GA trying to stay within five-six hours for everyone scattered in four states. We prefer one house finding that late nights/early morning meetings in the kitchen produce the best interaction among family members that rarely see each other. Most family members concluded that it was a good location and the house met our needs.The Inn provided a variety of bed sizes with comfortable bedding and baths at an affordable rate. If one didn't like the clawfoot tub/shower unit adjoining many of the bedrooms, standard showers were available off the hallway. The kitchen was clean and one of the best in space and equipment that we have encountered in vacation house rentals. We enjoyed Final Four basketball games on the flat screen in the sunroom, entertained little ones with DVDs in the music room, and at least one person spent time on a laptop in a bedroom. The house is big enough to provide space for all and the area offers "something for everyone." It is an old house and there is always room for improvements. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

For the past three years my wife and I have hosted four day gatherings at the Saluda Inn. Each time we bring from 20-38 people, and generally use all the bedrooms. We rent the entire facility with the exception of the wine cellar in the walk-out basement.

Our last visit was March, 2013. Our guest have ranged in age (20's - 70s), income (rich to poor), and just about every demographic you can think of - they are always a diverse group.

Three years, and three rentals later, we can say there has never been a single complaint by any of our guests, and all of them want to return. The kitchen and common rooms comfortable host from 4 - 40, and all the bedrooms are unique and comfortable.

The Inn is an easy walking distance from the historic Main Street area of Saluda, something we have all enjoyed. The owners, Rich and Joni, are helpful, courteous, and fun to be with.

The Inn is over 100 years old, and common sense reading of the web site clearly indicates this is not a chain hotel property or a 5 star resort, but a lovingly restored, old, historic property that is very family and group friendly. Its clearly not a place if you want modern amenities such as cable tv, wifi, or other types of 'conveniences' that do not enhance a 'family' gathering but in reality separates people from one another. Referring to the Inn as a B&B or a "vacation home" is not correct on the part of a reviewer as it is misleading. Simply put, if you have a large group - 10 -40 and want to spend real quality time with one another is a simple, peaceful environment, the Saluda Inn is a wonderful place to consider.

If you consider the price for a three story facility in an historic setting it is an excellent value per person, or per group.

Having hosted approximately 80+ people at the Saluda Inn over the past three years,all of whom loved their stay, consider this review our group 'thumbs up'!

Room Tip: Every room is unique!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our extended family rented the entire property for Thanksgiving 2012. In other words, our family of 21 rented the Inn as a "vacation home" for the holiday. This would not be a typical B&B experience and thus is not a B&B review. However, some aspects of this review would be applicable to the B&B experience.

There is definitely a "laid back" atmosphere to this Inn. In essence, you arrive and walk in. The Inn isn't locked. Not that we felt at risk or anything like that. There really is nobody there to check you in. There isn't anybody there to check you out. The "common" areas of the Inn are "open to the public" per se. Having said that, each room does have its own key so your personal space and items can be secured.

Our foremost impression of the Inn would be a lack of cleanliness. It was almost as if there had been very little occupancy in some areas of the Inn and that there had been no effort to give the place a "going over" to get it ready for us. Floors were dusty. Furniture needed dusting. There were areas clearly within eyesight that had not been swept in quite some time - beyond dust bunnies, more like dust jack-a-lopes. There was a half-eaten candy bar plainly visible under a table in the sunroom. Coffee makers had used filters & coffee grinds that had been there long enough to grow mold. The kitchen had not been swept well as we found items clearly from previous use while we were cleaning upon our check-out duties.

In addition to cleanliness, there were many items that were in disrepair or not usable. Bathtubs/showers in several bedrooms were unusable so we had to resort to common area bathrooms. Not a big deal, but definitely did not meet our expectations laid out in the floorplan. Two bathrooms on the third floor did not have door knobs on the doors. In one of the rooms, the knob was laying on a table in the room. When they first arrived, one of the teenagers closed the door to the bathroom without realizing that the knob was missing. After being trapped and yelling for 10 minutes without being able to get anybody's attention, he finally had to resort to breaking down the door to get out. After this, we made sure everyone was aware to use the knob in the other room. When we informed the Inn's owner about this situation, she thanked us for bringing the knob situation to her attention! In other words, even though the knobs were missing when we arrived, she was unaware of it. How much of a walk-through had been performed prior to our arrival?

Many light fixtures, lamps, & outlets were not functional. Some things seemed as they were there as decorations or "antiques" and in some cases were broken. On our bed, the bed posts were loose and it reminded me of the finial on the steps in "A Wonderful Life" because they would easily come off (yes, the entire bed post). These "fragile" items never make you feel good when you have a security deposit and there is no formal check-in or check-out. Finally, the dishwasher was having issues in that it got hung up on the drying cycle. We had set it to run in delay overnight and found that the heater had remained on for what had to have been several hours. This would easily be classified as a fire hazard and could have ended in tragedy. When we contacted the Inn owner about it (just to let her know of the problem), her response was basically, "Oh yeah, don't run it unless you can be there to watch over it". In other words, it appeared as if she knew it was a problem... but did not inform us so we could take the necessary precaution. Yes, the Saluda area is laid back and "a step back in time" - but this is perhaps a bit too laid back.

This next one isn't a deal breaker, but it's definitely something we did not think to inquire about beforehand. As with any large group, there are times when one might want to have some "me" time. Or, if over the course of the holiday weekend, the family or subgroups of the family might want to be entertained by a football game, or a movie, or something of that sort. Well, unless you're planning to go to the stadium or a theater, you're not really going to do that in the house. Although there is a single TV and a DVD player in a common room, the Inn does not subscribe to Cable or Satellite TV. There isn't even over the air TV via an antenna. We ended up buying a $40 HDTV antenna and found a room at the far end of the house with reception to pick up the networks (ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, & PBS). Like the old days of rabbit ear antennas though, you had to play with the antenna and move it around to pick up some channels and move it again to pick up other channels. Like I said, a step back in time! One the bright side, there is Wi-Fi service to connect to the Internet. However, the signal is not strong enough to reach all areas of the Inn; second & third floor bedrooms at one end of the Inn had no signal or such poor signal that Wi-Fi was not usable. Thus, even if you plan on bringing your own devices to stream TV over the Internet (e.g., Netflix, Hulu, etc.), those plans may not pan out depending on signal strength in different rooms. A good idea might be to bring your own TV and gaming console - ideally if they can also stream TV (e.g., Wii, xBox, PS3), or multiples thereof. Bring your tablets & smartphones loaded w/ some games. Or, go old school and bring some cards & board games. Then you can have a place for some kids, or adults, to "get away", as need be.

On the bright side, there is a GREAT fire pit on the property. Our family enjoyed many hours around the fire over the holiday weekend. Also, the Wine Bar was open on Friday of the Thanksgiving holiday and we enjoyed a few glasses of wine and some local live entertainment. Fun was had by all.

A few of thoughts on the fees. My assessment would be that this property leans on the high side. Our family has rented homes over the past five years which had lower rates and had many more amenities included. In hindsight, there are a couple of fees I would inquire more about before signing on.

We had the Inn from Tuesday to Sunday. The rate per night was $540. However, there was a "fuel surcharge" of $450 for the stay which in essence brought the nightly rate to $630. I understand that a fuel surcharge became a tactic when fuel costs spiked for short durations a couple of years ago. But once the prices stabilized, those charges were incorporated into the cost of doing business, i.e., the daily rate charged. In addition, the Inn is managing fuel use by the heating furnace through a programmable thermostat... which is set to constantly lower the target temperature to 62 degrees F! We were constantly realizing that the house had gotten cold and needing to go adjust the thermostat back up to a more comfortable temperature of 68-70 degrees... only to have the thermostat lower it again a little while later. Thank goodness for the electric baseboard heaters in each room (which don't consume the Inn's surcharged fuel). In any case, the basic rate was $630 per night... which, again, included only marginal Internet service and did not include even basic TV service, not even over the air through an antenna.

We also decided to pay for the linen service (sheets & towels). What seems odd was that we had to wash the linens before departing. The contract allows for only a maximum of two loads to be left unwashed or substantial additional charges would be imposed. Well, sheets & a towel for each member of our party was obviously more than two loads. So, in actuality, we rented sheets & towels. I would not call it a linen "service" if we have to wash, dry, & fold the linens ourselves. Ok, so you say that renting the sheets alleviates the need to know & have the right size sheets and having to pack them. The idea would be that each room would have the linens already there matched to the bed(s). Not so. We did have to hunt for sheets for several rooms in order to make up the beds. As an aside, the fees for damage to any of the linens are VERY high. OK, that encourages you to take proper care so as to avoid the exorbitant replacement fees. But, sheets were old or not of very good quality and many towels were tattered. I sure would hate to pay the replacement costs being charged on what amounted to what I would classify as thrift store quality linens.

Additional penalties apply for trash & recycling and potential garbage dump fees if you don't take the trash bins up the hill by the road. It stated that all dishes had to be washed before leaving... except that you couldn't leave the dishwasher running after you leave (see dishwasher issue above). It stated that floors should be swept or lightly (?) vacuumed (except that the vacuum cleaner was useless). Any time over five hours that a cleaning crew would have to spend cleaning would be charged at $45/hr. Well, we were good scouts and left it in a MUCH better state than when we got there. About the only cleaning a "crew" would have to do is put the linens back in their respective rooms. We didn't have to worry about five hours of work or less. In fact, we probably could have asked for a refund for any fees the Inn owners normally pay for cleaning. Oh, wait, I don't really think there is a cleaning crew (again, see cleanliness comments above)!

I realize that this review is very negative overall. I just wanted to illuminate some items that folks should consider before selecting this property, at least as a "rental home" as we did. Perhaps the B&B experience would be a bit different. Just be aware and be sure to read the small print.

Having said all of this, it was good to have spent time with family and at the end of the day, this property provided the place for all of us to be together over the holiday. In that sense, this place was a success. For that reason, I can't give this place a rating of "poor". But I equally cannot give it a "good" or "excellent" either. Hopefully this review is viewed as an opportunity by the Inn's owner to make improvements. The Inn definitely has a lot of potential.

Room Tip: Third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a group of 8 couples with a couple of young adult children and one toddler grandchild. Our stay was right after Labor Day and the weather was very nice. The inn is more of a house rental but that's exactly what we wanted. A great time, we enjoyed the kitchen, the wine cellar, Saluda itself. We were able to have privacy when needed and nice gathering places for the group. Everyone in the group is looking forward to a return visit. Thank you Joni for a lovely weekend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Saluda Inn and had a wonderful visit. The Inn is old but well kept and beautiful, and the wine cellar in the basement was just icing on the cake. Acoustic music in the wine cellar both weekend nights was awesome.

Joani and her husband were polite, hospitable and down to earth folks, just what we were looking for to get away. They made us feel at home the minute we got out of our car. In addition, the Inn is a comfortable five minute walk to downtown Saluda, which was very nice. We would recommend the Saluda Inn to anyone looking for a beautiful and quiet getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms are listed online to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saluda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saluda Inn

Address: 229 Greenville Street, Saluda, NC 28773
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Saluda
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saluda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Historic Registry. Recently renovated with a commercial-style kitchen, sunroom, wine cellar and 18 bedrooms. Many baths with claw foot tubs and rain showers. Great wrap around porch gets sun and shade. A short walk into the historic downtown Saluda. Great building for family reunions and group retreats ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saluda Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.