We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saluda Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Saluda Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Saluda Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1793 Holbert Cove Road, Saluda, NC 28773   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Saluda B&B and Inns
Angier, North Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

First we would like to say thank-you to the owners Wayne and Wendy, you guys are wonderful. Your hospitality was above and beyond anything we have ever experienced. We can honestly say we have never stayed anywhere that made us feel more welcome as the two of you did. We went there not knowing what to expect and within five minutes after check-in; we knew we had choosen the perfect place. Thank you. I would recommend your lodge to anybody....even to the pickest of travelers. The rooms were immaculately clean, the decor and furniture was just beautiful, the views were breath taking, the fire pit was the perfect touch. Saluda is a beautiful place and we can honestly say the restaurants Wayne recommended was delicious and greeted by the kindest people we have ever met. We thank you and look forward to returning as often as we can. Until next time....Alan and Michelle

Room Tip: We stayed in the "honeymoon suite". Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tryon, North Carolina, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Tremendous views, excellent hospitality. A short drive that's a world away. A must stay for any occasion. Treat yourself, you will be glad you did. Great Christian family to help with all inquiries. Places of interest, things to do, all within a small walk or drive from your door. A lodge by name, your own cottage nestled in the mountains. Wine snobs, leave your ego at home and enjoy the best accommodation in the whole of POLK COUNTY!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a door to the mountain side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Really the only hotel we will stay at in western NC, worth the drive just to sit and look at the breath taking views, roast marshmallows, or make smoore's by the fire, play corn hole or golf in the yard. The owners live there and are so spirit filled Christian people, making any arrangements to help lodge guests find places or things to do in the area. So cozy and quiet, you can see for 50 miles and no houses or buildings in site. Not another place like it on the east coast. Take the time at least to check out the view and meet Wayne and Wendy and I promise you wont want to stay any where else. You wont find a cleaner room any where. Thank you Saluda Mountain Lodge for many wonderful nights just off the interstate!

Room Tip: rooms with a door out the back to enjoy the views are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

(If you are a five-star snob, don't bother stopping here—the love will be wasted on you.)

Here you'll find genuine Southern hospitality, pristinely clean rooms, and the perfect balance between "what-can-I-do-for-you" fussing and being left blissfully alone.

First I have to comment on the owner/hosts, Wendy and Wayne. As soon as you meet them, you are treated as dear friends. It feels more like you're visiting your favorite relatives than staying at a hotel. They will stop at nothing to please. When we stayed there, we were treated to s'mores by the fire and sincerely compassionate service.

The view behind the hotel is stupendous. Think "Grand Canyon" of the Blue Ridge. I could've sat forever in the Adirondack chairs by the fountain/fire pit, listening to the peaceful music and soaking in the incredible view. Truly soul-healing. (Thank you!)

The lodge may not be the fanciest place you've visited, but it will not be surpassed in natural beauty, heart-driven service, and attention to details. If you need a place to rest, think, heal, and allow others to care for you, this is it. I will return every chance I get.

About Saluda--there is much to be enjoyed here! Gift shops, antique shops, pottery, great restaurants, and beautiful mountain views at every curve in the road. Everyone was very friendly. My family will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and beautiful. The rooms with doors opening to the area out back are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hi Wendy, Wayne, and family! Just wanted to thank you for the incredible stay. You have an incredible lodge. The rooms are clean, the location and view to fabulous, but your warmth hospitality are real stars and will keep us coming back again and again. We loved the personal service, the fun family evening s'mores and bonfire and the heavenly views. I would encourage anyone traveling through this area that wants a clean room at affordable pricing, great views, and above all 5 star personal care and hospitality to stay at Saluda Mountain Lodge. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Just let Wayne and Wendy know your needs. If it is at all humanly possible, they will make it happen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hello Wendy, Wayne and family!

We just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay Sat. evening! We had to leave earlier than expected Sun. morning, but we wanted to say thank you for your kind hospitality! You have such a lovely place, and everything was perfect! The room was so comfortable, clean and pretty!! As for the view, it could not have been more beautiful!!! Except we do want to go back during the fall - the colors must be out of this world from your "backyard"!!!
Thank you again - it was very nice to meet you and we do hope to visit again - SOONER than later!!!
Take care,
Olivia and Steve Bibb
Columbia, SC

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice clean rooms, beautiful view in the back yard, very peaceful, the hospitality could not have been any better. You are quite close to the highway, but when you are sitting in the back yard you feel that you are miles away from the world and the world's cares. Along with a nice fire-pit and s'mores, who could ask for more? When I stay at a motel or hotel I want to relax and It doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saluda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saluda Mountain Lodge

Address: 1793 Holbert Cove Road, Saluda, NC 28773
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Saluda
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saluda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saluda Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Saluda Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saluda Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.