We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saluda Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Saluda Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Saluda Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1793 Holbert Cove Road, Saluda, NC 28773   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Saluda B&B and Inns
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“New Years Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My fiance and I had the chance to spend some time in NC, and at the last minute caught a big break as we found a room available at this hotel. The place was very easy to get to, the room was fantastic, the view from the hotel was awsome and the staff (the owners) was perfect. The amenities are certainly worth mentioning, but the customer service was the most special part of the stay. Exceptionally accomodating, very generous with thier time and quite helpful with where to go and what to do in Saluda. We ended up staying 2 nights and we have to admit it was our best New Years. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Saluda Mountain Lodge!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our car broke down 300 miles from home on a cold rainy day, and we ended up being led to Saluda Mountatin Lodge by a local mechanic. The room was great and the view was breathtaking, but what went above and beyond that was the kindness and hospitality the owners showed us. We had no food and no means of getting to a store. They made us hot chocolate, cooked and served us dinner to make our delay less stressful. They even allowed us to enjoy their guest lounge, well decorated with an electric fireplace, while we waited to find out news on our car repairs.

Room Tip: Owners will help you choose the room that best suits your needs or tastes, if you let them know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My friend and I were planning to go to my cabin in Burnsville, NC, but hurricane Sandy made us have to change our plans. We were afraid of getting snowed in w/out electricity. We had packed food that we planned to cook while there.

At the last minute, we found the Saluda Mountain Lodge. After checking in, we told Wendy about our predicament. She furnished us with a grill on which to prepare our food, furnished side dishes from her kitchen and made us feel like we were part of the family!! As the wind howled outside, we were safe, warm and full inside our room at the Saluda Mountain Lodge.

This would certainly not have happened in a hotel chain room. This is the place to stay if you are in the area. The view from the rear of the hotel is amazing, but not as amazing as the personal service. It was like stepping back in time to the era of friendly, personalized service.
Thanks again to Wendy and her whole family.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that you could choose a bad room here. Ours had two double beds, microwave and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just happened to stop here, because the sun was going down and I was tired. When we arrived Wayne (the owner) was very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. He suggested we check the view before it gets dark and how right he was.....it's a sight to see as the sun went down. You feel the peace, the beauty, the reverence. You just forget all your problems. The room was as clean as the mountain air. I thank you guys for the experience and when I'm in the area again, I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It’s not easy to define perfection but staying at the Saluda Mountain Lodge is about as near to that as one can get.
Serenity and tranquility are in abundance here. Sitting out back at the huge fire pit gives one magnificent views of, too numerous to count, mountain ranges.
The informative lodge owners, Wendy and Wayne, are there if you need them and add to the overall experience.
Rooms are clean and comfortable (wood ceilings add warmth).
The bathrooms are antiseptic clean, everything shines.
All rooms have spectacular mountain views (sunrises and sunsets). This is definitely a place that all who stay here once will want to return again. Five star all the way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our first stay at the Saluda Mountain Lodge and we were well impressed with all aspects of our stay. Wendy and Wayne were first-class hosts and give the lodge much more of a bed and breakfast atmosphere with their 'always available but never in the way' approach to business. Little touches like mulled cider in the evenings, supplies to make s'mores around the evening fire behind the lodge, or the comfortable benches, tables, and chairs strategically positioned around the lodge on the property all added to the stay being memorable.

Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We chose a deluxe room (this adds a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and most importantly a door that accesses directly to the rear common area that features the heavenly views of the Green River Gorge). The bathroom was very clean and easily met my approval--and I am OCD about bathrooms in hotels! The beds were firm but comfortable and we easily got a good nights sleep.

We also soooooo enjoyed the chairs in the back yard, allowing us to enjoy the fire pit in the evenings and the magnificent views during the day. I have no idea how many hours we spent just enjoying these aspects of the visit and talking without interruption.

The little town of Saluda is nearby (<5 minute drive) and has several little shops and eateries. Ward's Grill and Green River BBQ are two favorites of ours. Basic groceries and 'oh no I forgot that' items are easy to pick up within the town. If you expand into the Hendersonville or Asheville area from here as your base-camp, the sky is the limit on what activities and venues will capture your interests.

All said and done the Saluda Mountain Lodge provided us a much needed weekend away from the everyday concerns of life, allowing us to decompress and enjoy time as a couple and leaving us prepared to face Monday refreshed. We would definitely stay here again and will plan to do so in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful get away, nestled in the mountains of NC. Each room in the lodge is uniquely decorated and appointed keeping with the feel of a mountain lodge. The deluxe rooms have a back door which opens to spectacular views of the mountains. There is an open fire pit in the back and the owners, Wendy and Wayne provide the makings for S'mores by the fire! The lodge is immaculate and Windy and Wayne make you feel like one of the family! If you don't try this one out you truly are missing out. Margaret W.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saluda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saluda Mountain Lodge

Address: 1793 Holbert Cove Road, Saluda, NC 28773
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Saluda
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saluda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saluda Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Saluda Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saluda Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.