We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic York B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grandhouse York B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Grandhouse York B&B to your Saves list
The Grandhouse York B&B
48 Panmure Road, York, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 York B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic York B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is truly a lovely place; new, big rooms, lovely common area, quiet, all amenities provided, lovely hostess (but I really don't feel like writing 200 characters so hopefully this will allow my review to be submitted! (stupid rule))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
108
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You won't be disappointed. Leanne made me feel like I was a valued friend not a customer. The rooms are huge and very very quiet with shutters down. I slept for nearly 15 hours on my first night. The house is very warm and homely and most of all its not a museum piece ( Don't touch this or that). The night sky is awesome and well worth the visit to York for that. The bed I slept in was quite hard but bearable. The air/con is whisper quiet and at night this is a bonus for light sleepers like me. The house is nestled in amongst trees and gives a different feel especially with the free roaming geese and chooks. An old Bullfrog sings at night but it's very soft and nice toned and you cant hear it until you venture outside.The Croissants and cinnamon rolls ohhh yummy brekky. Leanne sat in with us guests and chatted about anything and everything and a few laughs were had and some good memories to take away.Overall I had a very relaxing ,restful and a great time.

Room Tip: Room 1 which is facing west and sun all day, Keep shutters down to keep room cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Kent, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose the Grandhouse on the basis of its good tripadvisor reviews, and weren't disappointed. Bronwen was in charge while we were there. She was responsible for the superb chocolate muffins we were welcomed with, and was a good source of advice about York.
Our room was spacious and comfortable. We could have done without the rooster starting its antics at 3.45am - but then we were out in the country! Good continental breakfast (full cooked breakfasts are available at an extra cost). There's a large guest lounge with an extensive stock of DVDs, videos, CDs and books.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at The Grandhouse on Saturday night as we were attending a wedding in York. We could not have asked for a warmer welcome from Leanne, the attention we received was like coming home to family after a break away. We do not usually stay in B & B's but this has changed our whole outlook on the B&B scene. If all owners of establishments are as wonderful as Leanne the world would be a better place. The food, the room the location was paradise.
I woyuld highly recommend The Grandhouse for your next stay in York

Room Tip: Any of them, the quality and cleanliness makes your stay wondrful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a few days on the road this week and were looking for family accommodation The Grandhouse York was one of the few that accepts kids! actually not only accepts them encourages them. Very disappointed with several other establishments that see kids just as nuisance value (they do grow up and travel on their own later you know - and they have memories like elephants)
Our room was spacious and clean, lovely shower and avery roomy guest lounge which was fully equipped if you wished to use it.
Breakfast was excellent as were our hosts, very obliging and happy to talk. Our daughter was given the opportunity to collect the eggs, feed the ducks and chooks if she wanted and of course pat the gorgeous puppy.
Would stay again, more than happy with our choice here - thank you.

Room Tip: Room 6 for families is great, a big bed for the adults and a sofa bed for the kids, tv, video and dv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Grandhouse B&B was more than we expected. Leeanne & Ron were great hosts. They made us feel at home and were very welcoming. The afternoon tea (home made scones) and eveing port was unexpected and a great treat. The breakfast was very delicious with a hugh variety which also caters for all diets.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, very quiet, with an option of having your room dark, full light or in betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent in all ways,our stay was fantastic. Leanne went over and beyond what would normally be expected of a host to make our time in york a memorable one.
thanks again Leanne and also Bromwyn. we will return.
Graham & Elaine F

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grandhouse York B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grandhouse York B&B

Address: 48 Panmure Road, York, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slopes of Mount Brown with spectacular views to Mt Bakewell, the Grandhouse offers you wonderful accommodation in the historical town of York. A leisurely 10 minute stroll across the old time swing bridge brings you to the town centre where you can explore the ambiance York has to offer. 6 suites all with en-suites and air conditioning. Comfortable guest facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Grandhouse York B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grandhouse York B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.