We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We totally loved this motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of William and Garland Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salter Path
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William and Garland Motel
Save
You added William and Garland Motel to your Saves list
Highway 58, Salter Path, NC 28575   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salter Path
Petersburg, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We totally loved this motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

This was our first family trip to the east coast. We wanted to show our grandkids the beauty of the ocean and experience coastal living. This was the perfect place for us. The efficiency room was way more than we expected. It was very clean, had comfortable beds, dishes, pots & pans, a front porch, a clothesline and peaceful inviting atmosphere. The owners were extremely friendly and seemed to really appreciate their guests. Even the resident cat came to join us for dinner each night.They provided a lovely path just a short walk to the beach. Everything we needed was nearby. A seafood market right across the street, grocery store within a short drive, hardly any traffic, just the perfect place to stay if you're a beachbum at heart. We hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Graham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We love it! So quiet, at ease with our babies (our pets) with us, and knowing that the people who were there cared enough about their babies to bring with them also.

Thanks for having such a wonderful place.

Adrienne & Trey Rice
Massiy (cat) & Weezer Bunny (dog)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

MOLDY rooms, it was disgusting, especially room 5!! AVOID! Very old fashioned, tiny tv, tiny shower, no locks on bathroom door, but most importantly, the owners are extremely rude if you have any complaints. They will attempt to kick you out and say "we didn't want you here anyway". My mother and I are respectful, quiet people but we had to say something after waking up not able to breathe (because of mold). Only plus is location-nice private beach. Keep in mind, the owners won't clean your room unless you ask.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My parents, grandmother, husband, and I stayed at this motel for a vacation trip.The reason we stayed at this motel was because we could bring our two dogs. Once we entered the rooms we immediately smelled mold. After one night of stay we had side effects from the mold: sore, closed up throat, coughing, etc. I decided to sleep in the car it was so bad. When we confronted the owner about the problem she stated that there was no mold and she refused to inspect the rooms. After taking a shower, we also found that there was a huge puddle of water near the bed. We confronted the owner about the leaking pipes and she stated "someone wet the bed". We are all grown adults (over 21) and clearly we don't wet the bed anymore! The owner was very derogatory and disrespectful in dealing with the situation. We immediately wanted to leave a day earlier than planned (which she said that we HAD to leave or she would call the police (for telling her that we smelled mold and we were not satisfied with the rooms! ). My husband also killed roaches crawling up the side of his bed. If you are used to roaches, mold growing behind walls, and inhospitable owners (who are clearly in denial about their problem) then I would say this motel would be great for you! The health department needs to be contacted with this building because it is a health risk for those who enter it. The owner stated that the health department inspects the rooms and gives them a high rating monthly but she was not able to furnish any supporting documentation. I truly feel sorry for anyone who goes this place. As a registered nurse, I was completely disgusted and concerned for my family's well being.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posmith, Owner at William and Garland Motel, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Our motel is a small family motel. We do not have a swimming pool or phones in the rooms, but we do have air conditioning, color tv with cable, full efficiencies and all linens for the room, free wifi and each room is provided with clean towels and wash cloths every day. If our guests need more, then they are welcome to ask for whatever they need. If we have it, we will provide it. We do go in the rooms and change towels and wash cloths every day that the guest is here and we also take out the trash and replace trash bags. We have Orkin come and spray our rooms every month. We have not received any complaints about roaches and we have not received any complaints about mold and mildew. In fact, we are told that our rooms are fresh and very clean and we do receive a 100% grade from our health department inspections. There are very few motels that have a grade that high. We do all our own work and if we received complaints about anything that is relevant and true, then we handle them in a quick manner. Not all guests are happy and if that happens then we return their money and they leave. There is not any reason at any time for them to make a scene or get ugly. We usually have great folks who come and stay with us, but there is always someone who is not happy and feel as though they have to 'get back at us' for whatever imagined reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

My husband and I have stayed here many times. WE love the selucsion, and the hospitality you receive when going. The owners are very nice, and dogs and cats are welcome. WE don't have any but our daughter has a small dog which is great since her family goes with us some times. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends. It's not a luxury hotel but it's affordable, clean, convenient, and quite all of which we want. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stay in one of the trailers they rent very nice, kinda to yourself and peaceful, what I want to know now is DOES ANY ONE HAVE THE NUMBER THERE?? I CAN'T FIND IT AND IT IS NOT ON THE INTERNET...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

If you like quiet places, where you can lay your head down and take a shower after a day at the beach, this is the place for you. Access to the beach was private, and that's really nice. The beach area isn't as busy as most along the coast of NC. That was nice as well. We never had to drive anywhere, because we were able to walk anywhere we needed to go. This was a place I will return to again, and again. There is an area with tables that you can cookout, that is private. The owners are down to earth, great folks. I truly enjoyed my stay. I would recommend to anyone that wasn't happy their 1st visit, to upgrade their accommodations. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to William and Garland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William and Garland Motel

Address: Highway 58, Salter Path, NC 28575
Location: United States > North Carolina > Salter Path
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salter Path
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
William And Garland Hotel Salter Path

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage William and Garland Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.