We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on the Crystal Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
144 Shore Drive, Salter Path, NC 28575
252-247-3444
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best on the Crystal Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Excellent fresh seafood, cooked perfectly. We had Calabash style, but they offer it any way you like. This is our must "go to" seafood place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    72
    31
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A lot of food for a little money ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Food was really good we went on a Friday night late and figured we would have to wait! They sat us pretty quickly and our food was out in no time! The plate was over flowing with fresh seafood! Great atmosphere great food and not real pricy at all! If I ever come back to this area I will be coming back. My daughter is currently stationed in Jacksonville NC and we came to Atlantic beach area for the weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“been coming here for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Always a favorite for view and food. A little less so this time, as we felt a little bit rushed. The prices for full size servings were a little high, but huge quantities. Gotten a bit assembly line. Staff pleasant.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had 2 meals here--a lunch and a dinner- and the portions were so big we took food back to our hotel each time. Seafood FRESH, and overall much better food and better value than a long-established, well-known seafood restaurant in Morehead City. The broiled bluefish at lunch was the best I ever tasted, and ALL of the fish we had was cooked just right. So much food, and everything good quality. Plus, located such that you can watch the sun set over the bay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food; great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have to stop looking for my mothers' crab cakes-lol!!! That being said, the crab cakes are very good at the Crab Shack! There is nothing like fresh seafood and theirs did not disappoint! I also had a great view!!
I'll definitely eat there again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.