We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect drive in joint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Oak Drive In & BBQ

Big Oak Drive In & BBQ
1167 Salter Path Rd, Salter Path, NC
252-247-2588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect drive in joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Awesome thick shakes...shrimp burger! Oyster burger! Old' fashion fries! And you MUST try the apple stix dessert!!!! Oh man!!:)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All about the scallop burger but avoid the shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you go here expecting an amazing shrimp burger, do not bother. I am disappointed with it every time I order it. The shrimp or not local and have no taste. If you want a great scallop burger, this is the place to go though. The prices are a little steep for a drive-in and they do not take credit cards. Cash only.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“North Carolina BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

As a visitor to the crystal coast we wanted to experience local food ... So we hear about this place... And it's really cool!.. The food is awesome and the service is great... You can't beat a north Carolina BBQ sandwich with slaw and crispy fries and Don't for get the sweet tea!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a must do when you are in the area. We stopped for lunch on the way to Beaufort--pulled the chairs out of the back of our car and sat out and ate our shrimp burgers and fried pickles. So yummy! We don't have things like this in NY. This place does one hell of a business--it was packed for lunch on a Sunday. The parking lot can only fit so many cars because many people sit and eat in the parking lot. The parking situation got a little messy but it all worked out. Food is delicious here, and atmosphere is unique!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Burnt soft shell crab!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

With all the great reviews here, I thought we'd try this place for lunch. Well, first of all, bring cash as they don't accept credit cards. Given limited cash on hand, we got a couple of cheese burgers and a soft shell crab sandwich. The staff wasn't very friendly. The soft shell crab was burnt and almost inedible. The burgers were average at best. It's also very pricey for what it is - $4.25 for a smallish double cheeseburger with no fries and $9.95 for the soft shell crab sandwich. We won't be returning and cannot recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Oak Drive In & BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big Oak Drive In & BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Oak Drive In & BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.