We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward Balloon Adventures

Windward Balloon Adventures
105 Withers Street, Northam, Western Australia 6401, Australia
(08) 9621 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Northam
Attraction details
Willetton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Went last Saturday 10/5/14.the sunrise the weather everything was perfect. From setting up to breakfast was amazing, we had a wonderful time and we hope to do it again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Up, Up and Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It's not an original heading but it is fitting .. We had a sensational flight on Monday morning. The sunrise was beautiful with enough cloud making for an interesting sky and great for photographs. On the ground there was not a breath of wind and it was quite warm. I had no idea the balloon was so big. There were 20 of us in the basket and while that sounds like a lot, we were all in separate cells in the basket so it was not squashed at all. The takeoff was so gentle we didn't realise we had left planet earth for a moment. There is something special about being up high and looking down on everything. As the previous comment - some of the staff are a little gruff (jaded?) which took the edge off the experience - he may be sick of the punters, but for us it was our first time and we had waited a long time to be able to do it. Perhaps he should have stayed in bed that morning.
If it is on your bucket list, or even if it's not - do it. It is wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great experience, beautiful floating around on a fresh morning. The general set-up was very professional and while the staff clearly knew their stuff their attitude was a bit perfunctory. I know they do it every day, but for most of the customers it really is a 'bucket list' event - appreciate that! Don't get too excited over the champagne breakfast - sad country pub standard. A final word of advice - if you can drive up from Perth for the early morning start, do so. So glad we did, we heard some real horror stories about accommodation in Northam - especially the Shamrock and the Commercial.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avon valley from above on a winters morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Always cool in Northam on a winters morning with many frosts, however once airborne you are kept warm by heat from the balloon gas burner and can comfortably enjoy the valley views along the mist shrouded Avon river

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Memorable Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Wonderful, professional and thoroughly enjoyable. What a wonderful birthday event, coupled with glorious weather we soared above beautiful Northam. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windward Balloon Adventures also viewed

 
Northam, Avon Valley
 

Been to Windward Balloon Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward Balloon Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.