We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay, but just not 'Very Good'.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gingin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets
Save
You added Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets to your Saves list
1010 Chitna Road | West Gingin, Gingin, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A good stay, but just not 'Very Good'.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We chose Brookside chalets for its close proximity to the Observatory for which we had booked tickets to the Moon experience, it's just a 10 minute drive away.

The 4 bedroom chalets are certainly spacious and modern and would be great for larger parties (8) who could spread the cost more - although we did wonder how 8 people would fit around a 6 man dining table?!

We enjoyed our stay here, but just couldn't justify giving it a 'Very Good'. We paid ($160/night) and for that amount it just wasn't as great/clean as we'd have expected. The floor wasn't clean and left our feet black, we found we had to wash most of the utensils we wanted to use. The coffee sachets were quite out of date. We found the shower didn't stay a constant temperature, either very cold or very hot, we kept having to adjust the taps! The fan in the double bedroom made a clicking noise. The TV is very small for the size of the chalet (not that we're avid TV watchers), we were hoping for a lazy morning on Sunday watching a bit of the Winter Olympics, but there was no signal at all.

We were kept awake by the shouting of other residents late at night in the accommodation nearer the main house. Not great!

On the plus side, it was lovely to sit out the front and look across the fields. Seeing two massive kangaroos in the grounds of the chalets in the evening was fab. The towels were a great size and soft, and we did appreciate the later check out time, although we left at 10am anyway when we couldn't get the TV to work!

Little things let the Brookside chalets down sadly, attention to detail marred what could have been a very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary j, Owner at Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thankyou for your reveiw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dardanup, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the three Chalets over the Australia Day weekend, and can recommend the accommodation: Clean, comfortable and roomy, with a country landscape outlook.
Four bedrooms opening on to a large open area ( dining, lounge and kitchen )- well planned
Would be great for several couples to stay and enjoy the surrounding activities

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary j, Owner at Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Many thanks for your review. So pleased that u chose to stay @ BROOKSIDE for the Australia Day weekend. Our great location suited your needs for staying here. We r very proud to promote this great region & love the very positive feedback we receive, especially how close we r to the many attractions in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We was driving home from our holiday and thought we would stay in Gin Gin and found this place. I am so glad we did find it . The owners are very friendly and helpful. They told us what there is to do and where to eat. It was only one night we stayed but it was well worth it . The chalets are very clean and neat, plenty of room to move. The view was fantastic.
Will be back again soon and will bring more of the family

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary j, Owner at Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We were so pleased that u found Brookside. It gives us a lot of pleasure to be able to introduce people to our region & share what there is on offer in our great region.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great place with beautiful view to wake up too, very clean and peaceful. The owners are very kind and friendly. Great accommodation for groups of friends, families or couples! Large grassed area for kids to run around! highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in this area!
We will definitely be back :)

oh and after leaving my pillow and charger there, it was a great excuse to come back a few days after to pick item up, hehe

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary j, Owner at Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Many thanks for your review. What a perfect weekend u had to enjoy the Moore River.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Brookside over the Christmas break in Dec 2013. What a memorable event! There was sufficient place for the kids to run and have fun. The rooms were neat and tidy. Very friendly and helpful owners. Highly recommended if you are to get friends and family together and enjoy a communal lifestyle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary j, Owner at Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. It was a very memorable Xmas for us, to hear the sound of children laughing & enjoying themselves. What a wonderful atmosphere your group created.
I'm sure the fishermen were happy with the experience of beach fishing early in the morning@ a stunning location being Moore River. Thankyou for being great guests & the Yummy Xmas Pudding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is new accommodation, very clean and spacious, with excellent amenities, friendly hosts. The accommodation comfortably accommodates 8 people in the chalet. Everything provided; tea towels, washing detergent, bath mats, hand towels, tea coffee. We forgot soap (showers), this is not provided. We would definitely return, it is a good location close to Gingin Observatory (10 min drive) and Guilderton ( 15 min drive).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary j, Owner at Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thankyou for your review. Our Chalets are 5 years old , so it pleases us that u thought they were new. Sorry regards no soap an oversight on my behalf. Look forward to your return.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff Knoll
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for a few days whilst visiting the Gingin observatory. Superb location, excellent facilities, spacious , comfortable friendly and helpful without being intrusive , owners. Excellent referrals for dining out, but everything you could want right there at the accommodation. Highly recommend to any one looking for accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary j, Owner at Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We like to think that we provide a stress free environment ,so thank you for your acknowledgement.
Hopefully you will experience again soon.
Thank you for your comments, all the best.

Michael & Mary @ BROOKSIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets

Address: 1010 Chitna Road | West Gingin, Gingin, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Gingin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Gingin
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Budget Accomodation & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.