We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Tasty portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Orient Chinese Restaurant

Golden Orient Chinese Restaurant
49 Dempster Street, Esperance, Western Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 30 Restaurants in Esperance
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Large Tasty portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a lovely meal here. The staff were pleasant and very attentive. We ordered 2 dishes and a large rice to share between 2 people...we struggled to finish because of the large portions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lady Manager is a F'wit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My 1 star rating is based on a single experience at this restaurant which otherwise would have been a 4 star rating.

I don't live in Esperance, but was holidaying with my wife for a few days after I did a days work in town. We had a great meal and spent a reasonable amount of cash, were happy with the service of the staff who were quick, cheerful and cooked good food. We were really good time.

The restaurant area is HUGE. My only qualm is that the wait staff appeared to be putting patrons right next to each other, rather than spreading them out. This was a but awkward given we could each easily hear what each other was saying. There was plenty of room for a spacing of 5 or more tables apart.

Until I decided to pay the bill. So I go off to the till in the reception area while my wife gets herself ready for the walk home in the restaurant. I chat to the lady manage at how much we enjoyed the good and service. She starts talking to me about what I do and I tell her I come town every few months to work for a day maybe two and this time I have bought my wife with me to show her around. Everything is pleasant and nice during the transaction.

Imagine this: We walk back to the table where my wife is putting on her jacket and picking up her bag. The manager/owner hands me the receipt and without a smile says loudly so that everyone in our part of the restaurant can hear (everyone stopped talking and looked at us):

"Your husband (says my name) doesn't love you anymore and when he comes to town he told me he comes to see his new woman. You shouldn't be with him anymore."

Err...awkward!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Sometimes meals are fantastic and full of flavour, othertimes it is not so great. They make really tasty spring rolls. The ribs in plum sauce are really lovely and the fried rice is always good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is one of the best Chinese foods I have had in a very long time. Excellent and attentive service and quality ingredients. Very tasty and would definatley return.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2012 Esperance Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The service was quick and the food was very good. Great variety to choose from.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Orient Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Esperance, Western Australia
Esperance, Western Australia
 

Been to Golden Orient Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Orient Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.