We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enzian Hotel On Chamois

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Buller
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
69 Chamois Road, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Mount Buller
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hotel with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had visited Mt Buller before and heard that Enzian was one of those places you stayed away from however I heard from friends that it was under new management. I decided to make the most of what snow there was and book in.
I wasn't disappointed, despite the hotel being a bit older it had a true European look. My wife was very happy, (one challenge over) Our room was very comfortable, king bed with bunks for the kids. My wife said she had one of the best sleeps she has ever had with the kids in the room I think they have put new mattresses in. The bathroom looked as though it had been recently done up.
We stayed for dinner and met up with our friends who had recommended it. The meal was excellent with a good selection for the kids. Wine list wasn't much to write home about but we were in the snow so what do you expect. Reasonable prices for the meal which is not often the case in the snow. Service was good but odd that the wine was plonked on the table without being poured. Not a biggie but we coped. :)
For our accommodation for two days it was just over $530 not bad for two nights with the kids at Mt Buller.
The only sour point of our stay was the taxi from the carpark. Over $100 for the family. I'll bring the luggage up next time in the taxi and get the family to catch the free bus. Not the hotels problem but the feeling of having to use it and being ripped off does nothing for Mt Buller.
Will definitely book again next year as long as there is snow which I believe we were lucky to have for our stay.

Room Tip: Get a large group together and pay the extra for their giant sized apartment. I was shown the room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review It is very encouraging for us to have such positive feedback about the hotel especially in the first year of our new ownership. We have great plans for the future and your feedback is greatly appreciated, endorsing what we have already achieved.
We have other wines available which we do not have listed and should have put them on. There are plans for extending the list next season.
Again many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location was great (unfortunately the snow was almost gone the week we were there), however, we had a room with a double bed in one room and a set of bunks in the other (3 of us staying). The bunks were very very very uncomfortable. The TV was mounted so high just inside the door that the only place you could watch it was on top of the top bunk. The bathroom was very very tiny, and old. Breakfast was part of the deal, however the few days we did have it the coffee ran out, the milk ran out, the juice ran out and guests had to look everywhere to find someone to refill them both times. The bread was also frozen for toast. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as the menu did not appeal to us, we walked into the village instead. Location on the mountain was good. I've stayed in a lot better and usually would not leave comments like this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sue, Thank you for your review. Despite many places charging $450 plus per night during this period we only charged you our off peak rate. We have much better accommodation available if you are able to pay the price. We have only recently purchased the hotel and however all bathrooms were reappointed with new vanities, toilets and repainted prior to the beginning of the season and whilst some of the mattresses are brand new some have yet to be replaced. We do not pretend to offer 5 star accommodation but a good solid 3 star. With regards to breakfast, it is disappointing to learn that there was a problem and we would have appreciated to be advised so that we were able to address it with the staff member concerned. We intend to renovate the hotel further during the summer months and address many of the problems with our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

It was great the service was excellent and they have a great restaurant and they have great options for dinner and are all in all a great place to stay with very nice owners... In my opinion anyone that likes space and enjoys great experiences stay with Enzian!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Enzian. Our first season with new ownership has been great and it is very gratifying to hear that the service was excellent and that thought the restaurant was great restaurant. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We travelled to Mt Buller on the 23rd of August which was the end of the Schools ski week and stayed for two nights. A very good location as Chamois is right out the back of the hotel and you can start skiing or boarding only a matter of metres from the hotel. The breakfast was humble, but that's all you need and it obviously keeps the costs down. We liked the atmosphere of the place as it felt homely more like a lodge rather than a commercial hotel. There's a decent drying room and importantly a very handy storage room if you want to ski the day and leave your luggage. We didn't have dinner at the restaurant but we had dessert one evening at the restaurant which was very nice. Our two boys aged 9 and 6 enjoyed the kids menu. They looked after us nicely as the restaurant was full. Importantly, we still could get a decent coffee at 10pm at night. The rooms were small and a little dark, but that's reflected in what you pay. The beds were very good as the mattresses we all new. My wife said she had the best sleeps which is rare. The family intend of returning next year for our annual snow trip to the Enzian.

Room Tip: Our kids loved the snow play next to the Chamois ski run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are pleased that you found the hotel homely as that is what we are trying to achieve. Smaller hotel with more personal service, you will never be a number at Enzian. Yes our rooms our bunk bed rooms are quite small but as you say comfortable and I am pleased that your wife enjoyed a sound sleep. We do offer more premium rooms and apartments but these were no doubt booked beforehand. Many people have commented on the location, that we are virtually ski in ski out being located so close to the Chamois and how good our food is. Nice to hear that we are meeting and exceeding our guests needs and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your annual pilgrimage to the snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Buller on the hope of a room.
The great team at the information centre got us a room at the Enzian, one of the last rooms available on the mountain for the night.
When we arrived it was just what was we were told, spot on.
Dinner that night in the lodge was also great.
Unfortunately we were only on Buller for the night.
Would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Many hotels on Mt Buller do not offer single night accommodation even when they have a room free. At Enzian if a room is available we will always try to sell it.
I'm also pleased to hear good feedback about the Info Centre we work very closely with them and are very pleased with their performance.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your dinner. The news is our chef has told us he will be returning for next season so the standard of food will continue for next year. Please you enjoyed your dinner.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Had great stay, booked last minute and for hotham it was cheap. It is what it is and I would stay there again. The restaurant is brilliant. Its in a good location we also got a balcony. The owner was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Dave, thank you for your words of praise. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed the restaurant and your room. Not all of our rooms have a balcony, so you were in luck. Oh yes, forgot to mention we are on Mt Buller not Hotham...
Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ideal accommodation - 2 rooms connected by en-suite. Very quiet and comfortable. Excellent restaurant. Great facilities and service. Terrific location: short walk to the village but far enough away to be peaceful. Love being able to avoid Burke Street by taking the Canyon Trail to Standard. Would definitely consider again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Tim, thank you for your review it is greatly appreciated and great to hear that you found the accommodation ideal, quiet and comfortable and you appreciated our restaurant, facilities and service. Yes being able to take the Canyon Trail to Standard is quite a feature of being able to avoid Bourke Street. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Enzian Hotel On Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enzian Hotel On Chamois

Address: 69 Chamois Road, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Buller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Mount Buller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New management took over in 2013. Enzian is rated 3 stars by AAA Tourism. The hotel provides a true Australian alpine experience welcoming skiers and their families with genuine warmth and personal friendliness. Located just metres from Chamois Run and the Canyon Trail, and a short walk to the heart of Mt Buller's Alpine Village. Relax and enjoy apres drinks in the Austrian style bar rubbing shoulders with some of the mountain's well known identities. Stay on at Enzian's Restaurant for its hearty meals suited for the ravenous skier after a hard day on and off the piste. One of the iconic accommodation houses on Mt Buller, Enzian Hotel on Chamois has a change of ownership and they are treating Enzian Hotel on Chamois with the tender loving care that this iconic hotel deserves. Breathing new life into the property by setting a high standard of hospitality that one would expect of this grand old lady of Mt Buller. Our chef brings his extensive food knowledge to the restaurant and will sure to satisfy even the most discerning palate. So where else would you stay but Hotel Enzian on Chamois. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enzian Hotel On Chamois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Enzian Hotel On Chamois to your Saves list