We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weeks Snow Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Buller

Mt Buller
Village Square, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
+613 5777 7800
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weeks Snow Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Blue Sky & Sunshine. Great escape to the mountains with a lot to do or as little to do. Just enough snow for us this year but relaxing a lot more.Fresh air is fabulous.....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    43
    22
    6
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ski was FUN, carrying the equipments everywhere were Not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Grayline driver George (to Mount Buller) was one of the best straight forward driver we have met. Would recommend the service to our friends and family.

We missed the 11:30am class, attended the 2nd class at about 1-1:30pm without finishing as we rushed to return with Shuttle back to Grayline bus.

Mount Buller doesnt have very good signage, suggest to ask bus driver or anyone where to go if going for classes. We didnt have time for Ski Lift as well (which we have paid for).


*NOTE* The Ski Lesson was FUN, the very tight ski boots are nOt. Make sure you get the right size. Walking the stairs with Ski Boots is not a good idea as well, perhaps can find out if you can walk up with normal snow boots, then change everything near lesson area.

*Need more days perhaps..?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Total Rip Off - DO NOT GO HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just got back from a weekend trip to Mt Buller. Flew all the way from Perth for it. Bought a 2 day lift pass and hired equipment for both days on the day of arrival. First day was ok and snow conditions were good albeit no where near as good as europe. On the second day ALL the lifts bar one were closed. This did not show on the Mt Buller iPhone app, the snow report or the info screens in the village. These were all still showing as 90% open. Even the gate to the resourt at the bottom of the hill only said 2 lifts were closed due to wind. This meant that you have to pay $40 to get in and make your way all the way to the top before seeing that there is actually nothing you can do.

Add to this that they refused to refund the second days lift pass even though no facilities were available. I find this absolutly appalling! If a sports event or music concert is rained out refunds are given as you have not gotten what you paid for. I see no reason why the same policy does not apply for a ski resourt. In Europe if a certain percentage of the lifts are not open due to weather (happens very seldom) refunds are provided to people who have bought tickets in advance! Given the overall cost of boarding/skiing at Buller you soon realise that beyond the cost of the flight to europe you can actually buy a 6 day pass and hire equipment for the same time at less of a cost than what they charge for 2 days. I have on 3 occasions boarded in the French alps for around 600 GBP for 6 days and that included the return trip to London. I paid over $1000 to fly from Perth to Melbourne and go to Buller for 2 days boarding and then only got 1 day actually on the slopes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rip Off Mountain”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I can't stress enough how much I urge people NOT to go to this mountain. I wouldn't mind their price gouging if their amenities were updated but the majority of these chair lifts would have to be the slowest and most uncomfortable in the world. The runs are short, the lift queues are long and the lift rides even longer. It would be bearable if they had foot rests on the chairs (especially the wombat chair). It was a 1/2 hour ride from bottom to top and by the time we got there, my sciatic nerve was pinched and I was in pain for the rest of the weekend.
If that wasn't bad enough, they closed the mountain at 1pm due to strong winds but refused to call it a "wind hold day" so we didn't get a refund. Staff couldn't care less either. Woeful rip off merchants.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Mt Buller!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Awesome place to ski. Great variety of runs. Friendly staff everywhere from lifts to ski instructors. Close to Melbourne. Would go a lot more often if we could afford it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Buller also viewed

Mount Buller, Victoria
 

Been to Mt Buller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Buller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.