We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoo Hah Kitchen, Kooroora Hotel,

Hoo Hah Kitchen, Kooroora Hotel,
Village Square, Mount Buller, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Mount Buller
Cuisines: Australian
Description: http://www.mtbuller.com.au/Detail/Winter/Mountain/Bars-Restaurants/29 Very good renovated restaurant, separate business but located in the hotel
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.mtbuller.com.au/Detail/Winter/Mountain/Bars-Restaurants/29 Very good renovated restaurant, separate business but located in the hotel
Castlemaine, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel had a great feel and warmth about it, our meals were were very enjoyable. Sitting next to the window it was lovely looking out into the village.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great fresh food with very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a great option for family dining. Having a wide and varied menu meant we could all choose something to our liking. The portions were very generous - great after a full day of skiing. The food was fresh, nicely presented and offered extremely good value. We dined there twice during our trip as we liked it so much... if we had tried it earlier, we may not have gone anywhere else! We will definitely go back.
It is counter service, where they bring the food to the table once you have paid - but it really exceeded our expectations. Thank you

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a surprisingly good place to eat with a good range of freshly prepared food. Offers good value for money and considering that it is in such a run down pub a great place to dine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely frustrating experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you want to bring your own chair(took 20 min to get chairs), plenty of cash (this is potentially the only place at the snow that does not take credit or eftlos), your own water (massive venue with only 4 bottles of water that cannot be moved from the bar) and your own ice cream (told us 15 min after ordering that they had run out) - then you may have a great time! When I couldn't buy drinks in credit the guy at the bar rudely pointed me in the direction of the nearest ATM (although he did later apologise) When they told us about the ice cream and we mentioned a couple of frustrations the waitress threw our money back on the table and told us to go elsewhere. At this point we were s waiting for our mains - which took 45 min to arrive. When it did arrive, I will say that the food was very good.Not worth the experience though

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed lunch here while skiing at Mt Buller. It does get busy but there are lots of tables. The menu is varied and the food and very good but a wee bit expensive (not a surprise on the mountain though!). We had the soup which was a huge bowl and came with two pieces of toasted bread. Neither of us could finish our soup as we were so full. It was a pity as the cakes and desserts looked great!

Quite a funky atmosphere too. We enjoyed it and would certainly return for another meal here. One of the best eateries on Mt Buller!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoo Hah Kitchen, Kooroora Hotel, also viewed

 

Been to Hoo Hah Kitchen, Kooroora Hotel,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoo Hah Kitchen, Kooroora Hotel,, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.