We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1339 Main Road, Eltham, Victoria 3095, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokanui, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Eltham Gateway was very welcoming and the staff were wonderful and very helpful. We were in the family apartment (all 7 of us) and it was great for space and had everything that we needed. We stayed two weeks. First week was wonderful, cleaned everyday, topped up with tea, toiletpaper etc but then on the second week things got a little slacker. We had to start and ask for some of the essentials.

Over all everything was good but I don't think they realised what supplies 7 people needed.
Thank you very much to the staff that helped with travel directions etc and always had a smile on their face.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Kathryn,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your review of our property and services. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that all of your family had a pleasant experience staying in our 3 bedroom apartment.

I also appreciate you feedback that for the 2nd part of your stay our servicing of your room was not to the standard we had shown you in the first week. We do over the easter weekend and anzac day offer only limited services, but are pleased that you were able to access the essentials from our reception during this period.

Thank you for staying at Eltham Gateway and safe travelling for the future.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
29
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jamieson, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Service was excellent from the absolute get go! Easy to book online, information was sent within minutes. Upon arrival the customer service was excellent, rooms were immaculate and extremely well priced. Would happily stay again and recommend to anyone booking accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Erotherm,

Thank you so much for your recent review of Eltham Gateway - We are all pleased to read that your found your stay was "100% Satisifaction". We pride ourselves on our customer service and facilities and are grateful that you gave us the opportunity to present our hotel for your use.

Thank you once agin and safe travelling for the future.


Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
(03) 9431-1666
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here with a work college and found the room very comfortable and spacious. The service was great and I was impressed with the facilities provided in the room ie. plates, cutlery & microwave which I didn't expect in a Hotel Room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Magee,

Thank you for your recent review of Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and found our rooms, amenities and service to your liking.

We wish you safe travels and thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
(03) 9431-1666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend to attend a wedding at a nearby winery.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly and no fuss check-in. Our room was clean and cosy and as the property is set well back from the main road there was minimal road noise.

This was our first visit to the area and will definitely be back to explore more of the region.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eltham Gateway and for your review of our services. We are pleased that you found our property to your liking and enjoyed your time in Eltham. We wish you all the best for your future travels and would love to welcome you back to Eltham Gateway.

With Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
(03) 9431-1666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here while attending my sister's wedding. We found the room comfortable and tasteful.
The room service was delicious and Rachel on reception was excellent at customer service and extremely helpful, there was nothing too hard for her and she went out of our way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Kelli K,

Thank you for your recent review of Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre. We appreciate you staying with us for your sister's wedding and hope the day was memorable. We are glad you found our rooms and services to your liking and I have passed on your comment's to our receptionist Rachael as well.

Thank you once again and happy travelling for the future.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Quiet and on edge of bush land. The rooms feature a few pieces of art, and the furniture is in fine quality. We stayed in the Executive Spa Suite. The bathroom needed a good steaming cleaning (and the carpets as well). The room was neat and well presented but time for a thorough clean. I would recommend this hotel as the drive towards North Melbourne was very easy. Room service menu -Entrees and Deserts were fantastic, $9 each and yummy, but the mains were very disappointing! ($25-$32 for small potions of meat & a couple of veggies!) Good bed and well stocked mini-bar. Reception ladies were very polite & friendly!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear SilverLoveHearts,

Thank you for your recent stay at Eltham Gateway and for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay in an executive spa suite.

We welcome guest feedback in areas that we can improve on - such as the carpet steam cleaning and the portion size of our main courses relative to the value of each item that you have highlighted. These have certainly been noted by both our head chef and housekeeping manager to improve all future guests stays.

We have also now introduced some lighter dining options such as our gourmet beef burger with tomato relish and swiss cheese with fries ($15.00), beer battered flathead tails with garlic aioli and country cut fries ($19.00), and our thai honey soy chicken with fragrant rice ($13.00) for those looking for a lighter evening meal.

I certainly agree that our desserts in particular are both well prices and very tasty. I also enjoyed reading that you found our staff "very polite and friendly".

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

With warm regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
djohnstone@elthamgateway.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1339 Main Road, Eltham, Victoria 3095, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Eltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre rivals the most renowned Conference Venues and Conference Centres in Victoria. A retreat-style hotel boasting easy access to Melbourne CBD and airport, Eltham Gateway is a favourite accommodation provider and comes highly recommended for weekend getaways, special events and corporate conferences and stop-over stays. Set in magnificent, treed gardens, Eltham Gateway's facilities and accommodation are ideal for short or long stays, weddings, functions, workshops and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.