We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1339 Main Road, Eltham, Victoria 3095, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived (in typical Melbourne rain) our greeting at reception was warm. With a minimum of fuss we were on our way to our room which was at a glorious temperature compared to the weather outside. The room was clean, neat and tidy with all the amenities you would need. Being on the main road may give the impression that traffic noise would be an issue, but the noise was barely perceptible with the window closed and the curtains drawn. The bathroom was clean and bright and to the wife's delight had a spa in it. After a night out at dinner we settled in to bed and after being in 3 or more different beds in the previous 4 days found the bed to be the most comfortable of our trip. Nice to have a sleep in in the morning and not have the sounds of a "hotel" waking you up. The hotel is set back far enough from the road that traffic doesn't disturb, but surrounded by bushland that echoes with the sounds of native birds. A quick and easy checkout and we were on our way. Have stayed there before, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank your for youre recent booking at Eltham Gateway. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be to your liking. We certainly enjoy being surrounded by bushland and the tranquil nature of our property is enjoyed by many.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and all the best for your future travels.


Regards and Thanks


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
24
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights on holidays. Very happy and satisfied with the comfortable and clean apartment.All the facilities are fully functional. Daily house keeping make sure rubbish cleared and towels changed. Easy access to all the scenic location and Eltham town which is less than 5 minuets away. Staffs are friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Geogina,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre.

We thank you for allowing us to host you during your holiday and are pleased that all your family enjoyed your stay in our 3-bedroom apartment. It is also enjoyable to read that you found all our facilities, amenities and staff to your liking.

Thank you once again and best wishes for the future.

Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our stay in my home town after being away for 12 years was a great experience because of the location of the Gateway to friends and family. While the rooms where clean and comfortable, after our 10 night stay we did have a little 'cabin fever' which we counteracted by sitting out at night in the grounds of the Gateway which are spacious. Also good for stargazing and enjoying quiet conversations with friends.
A suite or a larger room would have been helpful ... But we booked online and so didn't have much choice once we arrived. We are staying again in the future and this time will discuss our needs directly with the hotel staff. Rates are comparable either way..so if you have particular wants/ needs then call. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and would have loved it if the restaurant was open. It would be a great place for us to have our friends gather and eat with us. Maybe next time we will be able to organize that?

Room Tip: See comment about calling ahead. Washer and dryer available which was a plus for us. Try the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Maureen,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre. We appreciate all your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

We are more than happy to modify all on-line bookings (even on arrival or during your stay) to suite your wants and needs and always enjoy going the extra mile to ensure your stay is pleasent. We can certainly organise group dinners in our restaurant in advance - please feel free to contact us prior to your next visit and we can discuss this for you.

Thank you once again and safe travelling.

Regards and Thanks


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a girls' getaway in one of the hillview spa suites. Very comfortable queen bed each and lovely new bathroom. The suite included a sitting area and dining set for 4. Also had a nespresso coffee machine which was a nice touch. Good views from windows (once you had climbed 34 steps from the carpark with luggage!). Good job we were fit for our age!
Downside was the so-called kitchen area which was in a corner of the sliding wardrobe, and comprised a fridge, topped by a microwave, topped by the tray with kettle and cups, etc. Unfortunately the kettle lead did not reach the power socket so we had to stand it on the floor and then get up and down on our hands and knees each time we wanted a cup of tea! It was also very dark in this corner with no room to put anything! Disappointing considering the good quality of the rest of the suite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to review Eltham Gateway and for your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in our Hillview Spa suite and enjoyed our recent refurbishments that have taken place.

In regards to your comments regarding the lack of kitchen facilites, 3 of our 5 hillview suites have full kitchen facilities as part of the room. We do advertise on all booking sites that "some" Hillview suites have kitchen's and are allocated to guests if they request them. In future please let us know so we can ensure you are allocated a suite with a kitchen for your use.

Thank you once again for your comments and all the best for the future.


Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is located in an easy to access and beautiful area, and the room had a nice elevated view which capitalised on this. The room itself was very clean and considerably spacious, and had a nice streamline modern feel to it. The bathroom was nice but the shower was quite loud which could possibly disturb the occupants of a neighbouring room - this is however a very minor point and overall the experience was excellent.

If Violetta is at reception when you arrive rest assured you will be meeting one of the friendliest and most professional staff members. Despite the short interaction with Violetta she made a fantastic first impression which carried into the pleasantness of the rest of the stay - Thanks Violetta!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from other occupied rooms just in case of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Reilly,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Eltham Gateway and for your review. We appreciate your feedback and it is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I especially thank you for your feedback on our receptionist Violetta - we are certainly lucky to have her as part of our team. Your feedback has also been passed on to her and the Directors of the company.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Regards



David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nicely located in a beautiful part of the world. A combination or urban outer Melbourne and tree laden hills nearby. Check in and out was a breeze, staff friendly. Rooms were roomy, well appointed and tidy, with movie premieres free, and free wifi though I didn't use it. Plenty of parking. Room service or restaurant meals and were acceptable quality and price. It is a quiet location off the main road, and i found the bed comfortable and slept well. I will be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your review of Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to review our property.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel comfortable, clean and well appointed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Regards and Thanks



David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a 1 night stop-over recently during a touring holiday in Australia. We turned up 'on spec' and were greeted by the very helpful and courteous staff who offered us a very nice room for the night. The room was spacious and nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large and came equipped with a spa-bath (most welcome). Although there didn't appear to be a restaurant at the hotel, we were directed to a local (within 10 mins walk) Chinese restaurant which was excellent. Highly recommended if you are in the area and need a place to stay for the night - and very convenient for the Yarra Valley vineyards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear SussexAdventurers,

Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel. We are pleased that you found our position convenient, especially for the Yarra Valley and surrounds and that you enjoyed your stay. I wish you well in your travels and hopefully we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards


David Johnstone
General Manager
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1339 Main Road, Eltham, Victoria 3095, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Eltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eltham Gateway Hotel and Conference Centre rivals the most renowned Conference Venues and Conference Centres in Victoria. A retreat-style hotel boasting easy access to Melbourne CBD and airport, Eltham Gateway is a favourite accommodation provider and comes highly recommended for weekend getaways, special events and corporate conferences and stop-over stays. Set in magnificent, treed gardens, Eltham Gateway's facilities and accommodation are ideal for short or long stays, weddings, functions, workshops and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.