We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buckland - Studio Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Buckland - Studio Retreat to your Saves list
The Buckland - Studio Retreat
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   116 McCormack's Lane | Buckland Valley, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have just returned from a blissful stay at The Buckland. Fabulously designed and appointed studios, views over the beautiful Buckland Valley and absolute peace! We so enjoyed the company of hosts, Eddie and Sabine, over a great country-syle breakfast. Perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    10
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely apartments/studios which were spotless. The views from the lounge over looking the mountains and vineyards are fantastic and extremely relaxing.
Breakfast at the breakfast lounge is always wonderful Eddie and Sabine are very hospitable. Its nice to have a well cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My yearly visit to Bright was a treat from my new partner. Sadly, our accommodation in this beautiful location was a pre-fabricated hut in a massive paddock of way too high grass. There's nothing to do. On our check-out morning there was a native curled up near the steps. A meter and a half long tiger snake... very unwelcome! Sorry, this place was not for us, despite the fabulous views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

To get away from the noise and crowds of St Kilda, we stayed in Studio 2 for new year's eve this year (2012-2013). It was a much needed heavenly respite from city life and lived up to all the expectations we had based on the website. The accommodation itself was superb, spotless and extremely well designed to ensure privacy from the other studios. The location could not have been more tranquil. There are no roads or traffic within audible range so only the sounds of nature accompany the uninterrupted views of the mountains, vineyards and open fields. The bathroom was magnificent.... a beautifully designed double shower and deep free standing bath with open but private views of the bushland to the rear of the property. Great amenities such as an automatic coffee machine, ipod dock, bottles of local wine (not included in the price but convenient), dishwasher, stove and a very comfortable king sized bed with bushland views. A choice of three different types of pillow to suit individual needs was incredibly thoughtful. The proprietors Sabine and Eddy leave you alone to enjoy the peace and quiet but serve a lovely breakfast each morning in their breakfast lounge which is a pleasant short walk from the studio. I imagine that autumn and winter would be a spectacular time to stay at the Buckland Retreat and we definitely plan to return. A visit to nearby Boyton's winery is a must for memorable an al-a-carte lunch over looking the vineyard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BucklandPossum, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear We-really-gate-work, (love your screen name :)

Thank you so much for your generous and beautifully detailed review of The Buckland! We really appreciate that you took the time to post it.

As you imagine, autumn in our valleys offers amazing colour due to the vast amount of mature deciduous trees and in winter we often enjoy the view of a snow capped Mt Buffalo. And then there are the vivid greens of spring....

Of course we'd love you to come and stay with us again, any time of the year!

Thanks again,
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

oh my god... there is a heaven on earth. this is it.
stayed in studio one.
no detail missed.
had the best view of the bushland lying back in the bath (very private).
lots of extras...coffee machine, l'occitane bath/shower products, log fire, and a fantastic big bed to share the night with my partner.
breakfast was great. eddie makes a good coffee and scambled eggs.
only wished i had booked for longer.
close location to bright and beechworth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BucklandPossum, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Philippa, thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review of The Buckland!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in Villa 5, the views where lovely, the bathroom was large with nice body products the villa was modern with warm tones. Breakfast was great! The down side to our stay was the sofa was very uncomfortable to sit on, there's no T.V in the bedroom which we found odd for 5 star. We found the cleanliness side needs attention! Not what you expect for five star villa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BucklandPossum, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Ritzy0ne,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we much appreciate it!

We are glad you enjoyed the views during your stay in July, you probably even saw the snow on Mt. Buffalo – always a pretty sight.

We know now that, for a short period of time around the time of your stay, we had an issue with some aspects of cleanliness. Unfortunately we were not aware at the time that No. 5 was also affected and we are very, very sorry to hear that it negatively impacted on your stay.

Due to illness our normal double-checking procedures fell by the wayside for a few days, which of course is totally unacceptable. Once we got aware of the problem it was remedied immediately. We just wish we had known when you stayed so that we could have addressed the issue immediately.

Thank you very much for still awarding us 4 out of 5 points for your overall experience, bearing in mind this issue. Very generous and very much appreciated!

Regards,
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Everyone visiting the North East needs to do themselves a favor and stay at The Buckland , cant recommend it highly enough ! Well done Sabine and Eddy ! Your location is second to none and detail in all fittings etc is nothing shorrt of excellent ..Look forward to staying again soon !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BucklandPossum, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Gary, thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are pretty lucky to live in a beautiful location like the Buckland Valley and it gives us great pleasure to share it with our gorgeous guests like yourself. We are very much looking forward to having you stay at The Buckland again.
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buckland - Studio Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckland - Studio Retreat

Address: 116 McCormack's Lane | Buckland Valley, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buckland - Studio Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckland - Studio Retreat offers luxury accommodation for couples nestled in the picturesque Buckland Valley, close to Bright, Victoria. Contemporary architecture combined with stylish interior and fabulous views of Mt. Buffalo invite you to relax and unwind. Enjoy the privacy of your own chalet, wake up to the soothing sounds of the bush, indulge in a delicious breakfast at The Buckland Cafe and then explore the many delights the Alpine High Country has on offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Buckland - Studio Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buckland - Studio Retreat Bright, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buckland - Studio Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.