We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did not know that accomodation like this existed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buckland - Studio Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Buckland - Studio Retreat to your Saves list
The Buckland - Studio Retreat
116 McCormack's Lane | Buckland Valley, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We did not know that accomodation like this existed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Having just spent the last 12 months extensively travelling through Europe, experiencing amazing accomodation and first class luxury, we have discovered- whilst on a winery tour of the Bright region this month, the answer to our interpretation of FIRST Class AAA Accomodation.
THE BUCKLAND STUDIO RETREAT would have to be one of the most plesant B @ B experiences we have ever had. The level of warmth from the hosts and the beautiful pets, to the thought and attention to detail in the luxury studios, including the indulgent toiletries, made for a most memorable stay. The bed and pillows have given us a new lease of life! My weistline was expanded with the hosts breakfast, all yummy local produce, and Sabines ease of booking transaction was sublime. Good work Eddie and Sabine, We will be back.

Room Tip: Studio 5 is amazing.......You will not want to leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you Christopher! We love to have the both of you stay with us!!! I am so glad I finally figured out how to respond to these reviews so that we can let you know how much we appreciate your feedback and also how uplifting and motivating your comments are. Thank you again and we hope to see you both again some time soon!! Cosmo says HI too.
Cheers,
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    9
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

After booking this which was supposed to be a romantic relaxing getaway-we woke the first morning to shots being fired which sounded like right outside our door!We jumped up , we rang Sabine who casually said oh yes its the vineyard next door-it fires shots starting from 7am all day to 7pm to scare the birds.- so forget that afternoon nap as well!
After spending alot of money for this "relaxing " getaway she should have informed us of this. She did not disclose this when we booked-which we felt was deceiptful. We confronted her and she basically said you should have seen the note on the website and left it at that!So if you are thinking of booking -ask if the shots are still being fired from 7am-if so find another place to relax!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BucklandPossum, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Samgalb.

We are sincerely, deeply sorry that you have found your experience of staying with us at The Buckland disappointing due to the noise made by vineyard scare guns, as used by our farmer neighbors.

As you know, one of the main attractions of staying at The Buckland is its location, within in a picturesque and unique bucolic alpine valley. The Buckland studios that back onto pristine bush, are also surrounded on three sides by working farms: pastural land as well as a chestnut orchard that overlooks the Michelini Wines vineyard, located around 600 meters away, at the bottom of the hill.

Leading up to harvest time (depending on the season, usually from around mid February to the start of April), scare guns within the vineyard are employed at various times in order to keep the birds away from ripening grapes. The use of the scare guns is strictly regulated; they are operated between the hours of 7am and 10am, and again between 4pm and 7pm on the days when in use.

Regarding their noise, yes we can certainly hear them, however we feel their noise levels are clearly in line with normal farming activities, and have previously proved not a bother to guests, partly as a result of our double glazing of each studio’s doors and windows. Living within a rural area, we occasionally also hear tractors operating during hay making times in spring for example; however, we happily accept this as a normal part of life within this beautiful farmland setting.

It is worthwhile noting that we have absolutely no control over these farming practices and have no way of accurately knowing on which exact days the vineyard scare guns are to be used, likewise the use of tractors.

Informing our customers about the possibility of farming noise around us has always been clearly explained on our website within our terms and conditions page, which is clearly listed in the main website menu. This web page is not hidden or difficult to find.

We do take this information seriously and truly do hope that customers take the time to read our terms and conditions. Given this, our terms and conditions are also listed as part of our on-line booking system: customers must check to agree to terms and conditions prior to making any booking.

Having said all of this, we are listening to you and thank you for your comment! In response, in order for this information to become even more accessible, we have now updated our website and placed it on the more prominent “The Experience” page as well.

Please understand that we really do care about our customer’s experience and wish only for them to have the best stay possible when at The Buckland.

Thank you again for your concern and comment,
Regards,
Sabine Helsper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent 7 days at the Buckland. If you are seeking very comfortable accommodation, obliging and unobtrusive hosts, quiet and beautiful outlooks you cannot go beyond the Buckland.
It is a great based for exploring the victorian high country - Mount Buffalo, Bright, Hotham - while staying in comfort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you Pellagra, we love to hear you enjoyed exploring the beautiful mountains and valleys of the Victorian High Country during your weeks stat at The Buckland.
We hope to see you again soon for more exploring and relaxation!
Cheers,
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We recently enjoyed a delightful two night stay at this up market B&B. The view from the balcony is stunning and a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of wine. The studio is modern and comfortable. Nothing is missing. We had dinner one night at the nearby Villa Gusto restaurant which offers an excellent 5 course degustation menu for $75.00(AUD). Also, a great place to visit for lunch is Boytons Winery. We had a delightful lunch out on the terrace. If you are heading to Bright I would highly recommend staying at The Buckland and using this as your base as you tour this beautiful part of Victoria.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a nice time when you stayed with us in May! The Sicilian inspired degustation menus at Villa Gusto are a favourite with lots of our guests and the fact that they are only a bit more than a km away from us is often commented on as very handy. And lunch on the terrace at Boyntons - an absolute must, in particular during the warmer month.
Thank you for recommending The Buckland as a base to explore our beautiful valleys!
Cheers,
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Recently enjoyed a one night stay (wish it could have been longer) at Buckland Retreat. Loved the views, fireplace, double shower in the bathroom and huge bed. Studio is well appointed with all necessary requirements including coffee machine, dishwasher, cook top etc. Great base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much! Sorry for the late reply, I've only recently figured out that we can actually reply to our guests to let them know how much these wonderful comments mean to us!
However, one night is definitely not enough to fully explore the beautiful Alpine Valleys and truly relax.in our beautiful environment. So hopefully we get to have you stay again and for a few more days!
Cheers,
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed in Studio 1 for 3 nights and would do so again at the drop of a hat. We were blessed with fantastic weather to go with the magical location...sitting on the deck as the sun sets over Mt Buffalo, a gentle warm breeze blowing and the only sound that of the bush settling is worth the price of admission alone. Accommodation is terrific, very comfortable bed, great sitting room, beautiful decor...would be great in winter with a fire as well. The studios are well separated so you don't get any sense of other folk being around except at breakast...which is done in a nice, separate building. Breakfast is fine, only minor quibble is that something other than eggs as a cooked meal would add diversity. Sabine and Eddie are great hosts along with their 2 dogs. It's worth taking the time to read the lttle book on the Buckland gold rush that's in the studio...adds a nice historical context to where you are. Overall...an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Buckland - Studio Retreat, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Wow, what a headline! We are truly chuffed to hear you'd return at the drop of a hat!! And when you do, please let us know what you'd like us (meaning Eddie) to cook for your breakfast. Eddie loves (eating and therefore) cooking his country style bacon and eggs any style breakfasts, but he has also been spotted cooking up a mean omelette or stack of pancakes. Whilst he is by no means a fancy chef, he doesn't mind the occasional French Toast challenge either. So please come back for another stay and let's talk breakfast. Thank you for your brilliant review!
Cheers,
Sabine & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Studio 1 for a long weekend in April. It was amazing!! The studio is perfect, the fireplace gorgeous, everything was more than we expected. The views and exclusivity of the studio was amazing. The owners are very friendly and the breakfasts are great. Highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Bright.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buckland - Studio Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckland - Studio Retreat

Address: 116 McCormack's Lane | Buckland Valley, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckland - Studio Retreat offers luxury accommodation for couples nestled in the picturesque Buckland Valley, close to Bright, Victoria. Contemporary architecture combined with stylish interior and fabulous views of Mt. Buffalo invite you to relax and unwind. Enjoy the privacy of your own chalet, wake up to the soothing sounds of the bush, indulge in a delicious breakfast at The Buckland Cafe and then explore the many delights the Alpine High Country has on offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Buckland - Studio Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buckland - Studio Retreat Bright, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buckland - Studio Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.