We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer, Schnitzel and Strudel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zirky's

Zirky's
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bright
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zirky's
Mount Hotham, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Bright
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beer, Schnitzel and Strudel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

"Velcum to Zirknitzer's"

Yodell your way to reception where the Fraulein will give you a big smile.

Nice basic rooms which are warm and clean. Included is digital TV, iron & board, kettle and a bar fridge. Bathroom has the usual amenities.

Good bar and counter meals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We travelled back to Hotham again recently, this time a lot more snow so we were able to ski the entire mountain for the first time in 3 years. We booked 306, a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment complete with a spa bath in the main bathroom. Again the sleeping and living areas were huge, the kitchen a little small but very functional and we cooked most meals at home as the apartment really made us feel at home. Being able to return to the apartment during the day (ski in and ski out) meant that we were able to also have lunch together. The central village location, in house ski hire and ski-in ski-out capability makes it a great place to spend the week. The staff, lead by the very capable Anna, are very attentive and friendly and make you feel very comfortable. There are lots of great options at Hotham, we keep returning to Zirky's as it meets all our needs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Our return visit to Zirky's after a 15 year gap was a pleasant surprise. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment that could have slept 10 people. The sleeping, living and kitchen areas were huge. The central village location, in house ski hire and ski-in ski-out capability made it a great place to spend the week. The only gripe, a restaurant that closed way to early and the lack of a bath which would have made recovery from the days skiing a whole more enjoyable. The staff were very good and extremely helpful.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

Loved the photos of this Hotel in the Mt Hotham brochure, Loved the look of the foyer. But do not judge a book by its cover.

We stayed in room three and did not sleep a wink due to the excessive noise from the snowmaking machines. The room facilities were very 80's in complete contrast to the idea you would have of what to expect from the outside. No information/brochures, not even any fire exit diagrams....

When you consider the cost it was a joke.

The staff member at the reception had absolutely no idea about the facilities of the hotel and could not offer any help as to the Mt Hotham facilities in general, parking etc.

We were just there for an overnight stay and I guess they must try and discourage short visits..... Well it worked Im not going back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

Our apartment and the experience at Zirky's for our three night mid-week stay at the start of the snow season was perfect.

We appreciated the access to the equipment hire facility in the lower ground level, and the standard of service was very high for our skiing gear needs. We used the locker located in a room next to the hire facility. I appreciated the easy access outside from this area, which avoids having to go through the reception area.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a dirty sheet which they replaced straight away.

We did not use the cafe or dining facilities, instead ate one lunch at Hotham Central located immediately adjacent to Zirky's. We also used the small shop at Hotham Central. We made the rest of our meals in the well appointed kitchen in our apartment.

We stayed in room 201 which has a view of the summit, four operating lifts at the start of the season, and also all the snowmaking and snowgrooming equipment (which is quite noisy at night). We had to close our blinds due to the bright lights from the snowmaking at night. We can watch people skiing on the summit slopes - starting at around 8.30am each morning. The room is second from the top, and is accessed via a lift.

The apartment is very comfortable for four people, and we made good use of all the facilities in the room including the spa bath which is vital after a day of skiing. There are limited supplies such as sugar, salt etc., but you should bring some to supplement this.

We found it very confusing as to work out where to park the car, and the information and signage is deficient. Mt Hotham Management should improve the information and signage regarding parking, perhaps with an additional information sheet when you book your resort pass.

We enjoyed our holiday on Mt. Hotham, and this was particularly enhanced by the service provided by Zirky's Apartments.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zirky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zirky's

Address: Mount Hotham, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Bright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Also Known As:
Zirky's Bright, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zirky's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zirky's to your Saves list