We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Ward Museum Complex

J Ward Museum Complex
Girdlestone Street, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia
(03) 5352 3357
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Ararat
Type: Museums
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

we had a wonderful tour guide who told us so many interesting facts, we went on a weekday but will return on a weekend to have a look at the records and other things, well worth going twice i think.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney,Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Wonderful informative tour of the conditions that went on here. The institution is in perfect order with many items on display. Very interesting being shown various marks on the wall from the inmates. The underground kitchens are well worth the visit. The bluestone walls make the place look impressive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“check your tour guide!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

a couple of friends and I did a day tour of J Ward. while we could all appreciate being able to explore such an interesting, historic site, Mabel, an elderly lady who was our guide, had absolutely no idea about the happenings in the prison & kept going on and on about other stories that were irrelevant. she did not hold the groups attention at all & people tended to walk away & look at other things while she was speaking. 90 minutes had passed & I don't even think we were halfway through the tour. Zzzzzz. My friends & I ended up sneaking off & explored ourselves. we got more information from the history/information signs around the place than we did from the "guide". would strongly suggest you find out who your tour guide is before booking unless you want to be bored to tears by old Mabel.
on another note the Aradale Asylum ghost tour was the absolute best! not one you'd want to miss!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“J Ward Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well-informed guide and a long (two hour) walking tour. Certainly very good value for money. Fascinating place. Our guide was kind enough to stay on and show us other interesting aspects of the building when the tour finished.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An eerie play to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A great tour. Interesting to walk through the old complex, there is night tours available too. Tour guide was a fountain of information.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Ward Museum Complex also viewed

 

Been to J Ward Museum Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Ward Museum Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.