We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross Motor Inn

Southern Cross Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ararat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southern Cross Motor Inn
96 High Street, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia (Formerly Orchid City Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Ararat
Geelong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here one night for business. My room was clean, quiet and well appointed. The bed was comfortable. I ordered a nice cooked breakfast which was delivered to my room. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to do the midnight ghost tour at aradale and chose to stop at this motel as it was rated number 1 on trip advisor. We were pleased we did.
The room was clean, spacious, modern and comfortable.
The hostess was welcoming and friendly and the check in/check out process was a breeze.
Before the tour we had tea at the blue duck hotel which was just around the corner from the motel.
We had an enjoyable weekend in ararat and the motel made for a relaxing stay. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I was on the road for a week in Victoria driving some 500 - 600K's per day and the delight of having a 5 star hotel experience in a country motel was a surprise and a delight! Highlight was the King-size bed with amazing linen and pillows, as comfy a sleep as I have had away from home. lovely, friendly people and nothing too much trouble, Doug and Barbara keep up the good work.
Gordon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was very spacious, quiet and comfortable. We had booked the only two twin rooms available; each room consisted of one double/queen size bed and one single bed. Nice big bathroom, with good quality toiletries - unusual for a motel). The microwave was a great addition. I also appreciated the free bottle of water- nice touch, especially when in-room bottled water can be so expensive. The room service breakfast looked great and was quite generously portioned, although I did not have this myself. The only issue we had during our one night stay was the dead Daddy Long Leg spider found in one of the single beds. Although this did not worry the person who slept in the bed, (thankfully), we did advise this matter at checkout and we were told "It's the season for it", with no apology forthcoming. Apart from this matter and the odd response, we enjoyed our stay at the motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Clean , spacious, comfortable bed, great shower, clean bathroom and no traffic noise. Only one letdown was not enough tea, coffee, sugar sachets but the cookies were a nice treat. Absolutely recommend this hotel you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadina, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were lucky to obtain the last room, and were very pleasantly surprised with the room. Spacious and very comfortable with very little road noise. All in all were were very satisfied with the service provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After arriving in Ararat without booking anywhere to stay I was hoping this place had a vacancy after reading reviews on here and I was in luck. Nice modern rooms with everything you need. Nice and spacious and the shower was great. Just off the main road so it was walking distance to all you need, pubs, shops etc... Will come back and stay here again, no worries!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Cross Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Motor Inn

Address: 96 High Street, Ararat, Victoria 3377, Australia (Formerly Orchid City Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Ararat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Ararat
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, close to shops and restaurants. Opposite the Visitor Information Centre and railway station and bus terminal.All our units have kitchenettes, quiet split system airconditioning, individal instananeous gas hot water systems, double or quadruple window glazing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southern Cross Motor Inn to your Saves list