We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1918 Bistro and Grill

1918 Bistro and Grill
94 Murray Street, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
(08) 8563 0405
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 restaurants in Tanunda
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

good location in the centre of town, dessert was a winner! Consider hiring some older waiting staff to show the younger waiters how its done

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    152
    136
    37
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“a gem among the vines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Enjoyed a special New Years Eve dinner. Had great food, great friendly and knowledgeable service - very family friendly too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, great service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We heard so much about this place and it lived up to its reviews. The staff certainly knew their menu and waited very well... They were quite busy so they made sure all were catered for. The meals were beautifully presented and the flea ours were perfect. The atmosphere was good however it does echo a little inside so we didn't get the nice quiet meal we possibly wanted but we enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate at this restaurant with friends last night,service was excellent,staff knew their menu and food was fantastic using lots of local produce. If you want a great dining experience in Tanunda this is the place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good modern Australian in a down to earth setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoyed the food here. The setting wasn't quite as sophisticated as we expected, but was acceptable.
The menu has a uniquely Australian flavour with the occasional twist. Some of the things promised on the menu didn't quite deliver. For example, the "citrus cured trout" had no discernible citrus flavour. Similarly, the "zucchini flowers stuffed with halloumi and ginger" had no ginger flavour. Despite this, both dishes were tasty.
Highlight was the Korean style kangaroo (much to my surprise)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1918 Bistro and Grill also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 

Been to 1918 Bistro and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1918 Bistro and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.