We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They've thought of everything!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewell Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewell Cottages to your Saves list
Stonewell Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Stonewell Road, Tanunda, South Australia SA 5352 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They've thought of everything!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We checked into cupids cottage, the place looked amazing! Gourmet platter in the fridge, as well as all the local provisions for a big breakfast. Espresso machine, spa, fireplace, tables by the lake, they even leave food to feed the ducks!!! We had such a beautiful relaxing anniversary, including transfers to and from appellation restaurant. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in this idyllic spot in March for a few days and we'd like to be there still .....
The location by the lake / the surrounding vineyards / the utter tranquillity - coupled with the excellently equipped cottages with masses of delicious food to prepare - what's not to love ?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in Haven 2 Cottage. Everything was as described on the web, nothing was missing. We felt very pampered. The completely equipped kitchen was supplied with all kinds of little goodies to nibble on and a bottle of wine. The breakfast was a full English one. I found the proprietors to be very friendly and helpful. When I couldn’t decide between Haven 1 or 2, I was able to discuss the differences with them before I was committed to a choice. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We chose this as we wanted a B&B rather than a hotel to be able to sit back and relax and this B&B was divine.
Tina met us at the door (as we had literally booked about 3:30pm and arrived at 5pm). She explained the lock (no keys for us to lose). Also gave us a couple of tips for places to dine in Tanunda. We chose the 1918 - yum yum yum!
The cottage had lovely attention to detail (local cookies to nibble on with a cup of tea, fresh lavender on the towels, even down to the local Barossa chocolates with a glass of port while having a spa - by candle light!!).
Breakfast was local produce (bread, bacon, tomatoes, eggs & milk).
We went for a walk around the pond after feeding the ducks (even got a couple of them to eat out of our hands).
Very well worth the $$ to get away even though it was for just 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Staying at Stonewell Cottages was a wonderful experience. Unfortunately we only had two nights there. We booked both a cottage and a retreat for a small family reunion. The location is terrific, utterly peaceful among the vines but not far from Tanunda. The cottages were beautifully appointed, the outdoor areas superbly looked after and the breakfast food hamper was good. The spa bathroom was huge and lovely. There were a lot of thoughtful touches like the dynamo torch in a basket outside the front door, use of a row boat on the small lake and a container of food for the friendly ducks. we had great weather but there were stacks of DVDs and CDs if you had to stay in. The courtyards had a nice, new looking barbecue but we were not there long enough to try it. Also, there are some great restaurants in the area. We did not see the owners as they have a system where you ring and get a code to open the door, but the lady i spoke to on the phone was nice and plenty of information is left in the cottage. It is not cheap but you "get what you pay for". If you go to the Barossa this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Was beautiful didn’t want to leave. Owners where very helpful and the Spa bath was awesome. Its in a great location not to far away from the surrounding towns but I would have a car. Breakfast OMG loved it there was ample left for us. Really over all enjoyed this place

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We are so pleased we choose to stay at Stonewell Cottages, much better than a hotel room or B&B. The breakfast supplied was ample for our 4 day stay, the dinner platter was a great idea at $60 saved us cooking dinner the first night we arrived. Although the weather was terrible it didn't alter our stay as the cosy wood fire, spa bath and ambience of the cottage was fantastic. It was very clean and the bed was very comfy, a really good setup for a romantic getaway.
A great place to dine is FermentAsian Restaurant in Tanunda, vietnamese food and very delicious, we were recommended here by Hentley Farm Wines which is a great winery to visit. Also dined at Jacobs Creek Restaurant and Saltram Winery and the food was fantastic. Seppeltsfield Wines has a good tour for $15/person, very informative.
All in all we had a great 4 days and wish we could go back every 6 months.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewell Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewell Cottages

Address: Stonewell Road, Tanunda, South Australia SA 5352 , Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonewell Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded and private waterfront vineyard cottages in the heart of the Barossa - cosy wood fires, comfy king beds, luxury candlelit spas. Escape, rejuvenate. Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards, a boutique waterfront retreat, set on an expansive private vineyard estate in the heart of the Barossa, offers peace and privacy, seclusion and space, just 60 minutes from Adelaide. Enjoy serene water views, still tranquil evenings and stunning vineyard sunsets. The two retreats and two cottages feature cosy wood fires, comfy king beds and luxury candlelit spas. The Haven Spa Retreats, the Hideaway Cottage and Cupid's Cottage are set on the expansive 103 acre (42ha) private vineyard estate of Stonewell Vineyards, overlooking a picturesque, private lake. Just a short drive from Tanunda, it is a tranquil world away from stress and hectic schedules, the ideal place to escape and rejuvenate. Sleep amid the vines, wake up to a long, lazy breakfast featuring fresh local produce. Unwind in your candlelit spa, de-stress with an indulgent in-room massage. Feed the friendly ducks, take a row to the island gazebo, throw in a fishing line or enjoy a bike ride along the vine lined country roads. Dine alfresco in your private garden courtyard with a gourmet regional food platter delivered to your cottage. Sip a wine made from the vines surrounding your cottage as you watch the sunset over the water. The best of the Barossa is on our doorstep - visit nearby Seppeltsfield Road for boutique cellar doors, historic winery tours, premium dining at Appellation Restaurant, gourmet produce and daily cooking demonstrations at Maggie Beer's Farm shop. We invite you to make Stonewell 'your place in the Barossa'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stonewell Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewell Cottages Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewell Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.