We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barossa House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barossa House to your Saves list
Barossa House
2992 Barossa Valley Way, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights (26, 27 & 28 March) in the quiet Jacaranda View room upstairs and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room is very spacious with a large flat screen TV (with Foxtel) and such a comfortable bed I wanted to take it home! The ensuite has a big shower which will comfortably accommodate 2 people. We were provided with port and chocolates in our room daily along with a sumptious big breakfast cooked by Lee (I am vegan and this was amply accommodated with a choice of cereals, home made stewed fruits, fresh strawberries and blueberries, soy milk, toast and preserves, cooked tomatoes and mushrooms, fruit juice, tea and coffee). We followed up Lee's recommendations for dinner (the Clubhouse and 1918), both of which were great choices. Lee and Judi are gracious and charming hosts with a wealth of information about the area and we would certainly stay again if we return for another South Australian holiday.

Room Tip: Despite being on a road used by trucks, the Jacaranda View room overlooks the back yard so we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WPG
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lee and Judith's B&B. The Jacaranda suite was large,clean and tastefully decorated. We found the bed to be very comfortable. While there was not really much of a view from our suite, the gardens at the front of the house were lovely. Our breakfast was ample and delicious. However, the highlight of our stay here was Lee's wine tour. He took us to places we would not have understood to go to. We were offered special wines from the vintners that were not on the tasting menu. He added history and context to the vineyards and wines we tasted. He provided us with lunch at a vineyard and gave us the opportunity to pat and feed a kangaroo. Thank you for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

First and foremost Lee's breakfast's were superb, the best B & B breakfast we had during our six weeks in Australia. The location was superb on the edge of town and the house and gardens just delightful. We took one of Lee's wine tours at the last minute and it was a very good decision as we had an excellent day - I'm glad he was driving!
We had a very enjoyable three nights - thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of a short holiday to Sydney and the wine region of Barossa. Overall, we were really happy with the place and the quality of the stay. We stayed in the new 'suite' room - which was very spacious and had a sitting area where we could relax after a day in the wine region and a private terrace to take in some fresh air and enjoy a peaceful morning. The bed in the room seemed a bit dated, you sunk pretty deep into it and it was a too soft for our preference.

Agree with the comments about a very good breakfast; Lee has indeed mastered the eggs and you won't be disappointed with that. If there were one comment on that; a little variety would be appreciated as anyone staying four nights like we did might find it a bit repetitive in the end. We've stayed at other B&B's that mix things up on a daily basis; and while we can do a couple days of eggs, we'd also happily try some other creations.

We took advantage of Lee's tours and this was also great. We discovered places we wouldn't have otherwise and with the keys in someone else's hands, we could enjoy all that the wineries we visited had to offer.

You are a little bit of a distance from town; just enough that it's a pretty long walk but if you want to enjoy some great wine with dinner, you don't want to drive. Not necessarily a bad thing, but you will need to make some arrangements to get into and out of Tanunda where all the restaurants are.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we would recommend to friends. Priced a bit on the high end in our eyes, but still made for a very nice stay in the wine region.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lee and Judi were attentive and professional hosts who made us very welcome. The house is beautiful and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was well done, especially the wide variety of country-style fruit dishes including peaches, rhubarb and plums, and free range eggs from their own chickens.

Complimentary wine, chocolates and port in the room was a nice touch. We will certainly recommend it to others and will stay there again if we have the chance.

The hosts offer customised wine tours and this was a fabulous way to enjoy tastings at a number of boutique wineries and to not have to worry about driving. We did not know of this beforehand but jumped at the opportunity.The four other people on the wine tour paid a whole lot more to stay at the Novotel Resort and were kicking themselves when they saw what they had missed.

Room Tip: The Photinia Room is a bit smaller than the other two but still very, very comfortable. Spend a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Barossa house. Judy and Lee were great hosts and operate a quality establishment.

Breakfast each day was a treat both in terms of the food (continental and full English featuring Lee's excellent poached eggs! - though he'll make you any kind you want) and the conversation with lots of offers of advice on what else to see and do in the area.

Accommodations-wise, we had the large room on the main floor. It was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the shower was a good size (and hot!) and the thankfully, the air conditioning worked great when it became necessary to rely on it.

The property has a great location close to most vineyards - there's even one right across the road. A nice paved path runs along the road in front of the property which was ideal for a brisk walk into town in the mornings. Also enjoyable is the property's large front verandah where we and our travel companions were able to sample some of our daily wine purchases. Judy and Lee keep a lovely garden out the front as well.

As others have noted, it's well worth it to take Lee's wine tour as he has the inside track on good wineries and VIP-like connections that get you some tastings of wines that you might not otherwise have access to as a regular visitor. The lunch offered on his tour was very nice to boot.

If you want to be well looked after, this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Located along the main road to the wineries, and easy to find. Had a private entrance to the room and even saw wild rabbits in the porch during evenings. Owners were friendly and they cook a great breakfast of poached eggs, bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes. Price was a little high but overall experience was good. highly recommended for people who prioritize central located accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barossa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa House

Address: 2992 Barossa Valley Way, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barossa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa House Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barossa House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.