We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park to your Saves list
Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nitschke Road off Krondorf Road, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Tanunda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Jacobs creek retreat was exactly what we needed. We arrived to a glass of sparkling Shiraz and a really nice gentlemen that took us for a tour through the gardens and then to our suite. We were instantly relaxed. Next came the actual room... We stayed in a studio suite (there cheapest room) and we felt like royalty. Big soft bed with pillows galour, and a HUGE sunken spa!!

Everything about the retreat seems to have been designed to make you feel relaxed, from the incredible gardens, and the constant stream of food and wine (best breakfast ever!!!) to the staff which we just loved.

After just two days we left feeling so refreshes.... The perfect getaway

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    23
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
110
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Upon arrival we were shown to our room which was infested with bugs of all kinds, not to mention the rotting woodwork, which was described as rustic! We were offered a wine tasting with a shiraz which was either off or oxidised. The expensive Degustation meal tasted like reheated function food, even though the website says something about freshest local ingredients. Our grievances were brushed off by the manager who offered a bottle of undrinkable wine in recompense. This place is a comedy of errors, definitely not worth the money. The staff although friendly, seemed a little strained. The only redeeming feature was the gardens and surrounding landscape.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Upon arriving at the Retreat, we checked into our room and went straight over to the Restaurant for a wine tasting. The gardens are stunning, and the wine list is lovely. The room we stayed in was lovely and cosy, with all the creature comforts - and a fantastic bath! Breakfast the following morning was fantastic. Only minor thing that slightly disappointed us was the restaurant only served degustations for lunch/dinner which were a bit out of our price range, so we had to travel into Tanunda for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife and stayed here for 2 nights and although the grounds and location is beautiful the accomodation was not up scratch for the price we paid.
Firstly, although the staff were very helpful, they place seemed deserted as no staff were ever in the main office. After speaking with one of the staff they said their were only 6 running the entire facility.
Secondly, the place has a massive Millipeed problem. They were all over the place including in our bathroom, main eating area and two were found in our bed.
Lastly, at night the scratching of mice/rats within the roof mad it very hard to sleep and is not something you should have to put up with.
Overall our experience was very poor and I would not reccomend this place to anyone. In fact we are toying with the idea of going to the department of fair trading.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Thank you to Rebecca and Adam for looking after us when we arrived at Jacobs Creek Retreat to find that our travel agent has booked us a room that was "not available"....argh!!!! (one of those travel stories).
While Adam tried to find out what happened to our booking, Rebecca gave us a private wine tasting session (not even her usual job). To say that the reception staff are friendly and accommodating seems like an understatement here.
The Retreat itself is like a step back in time and a step across to somewhere like the South of France or Tuscany. The beautiful rustic furnishing creates a very romantic atmosphere. It's definitely a place to spend a few days just to slowdown and relax. The garden is gorgeous and very peaceful. We would love to come back here again someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Moorooroo is situated along the peaceful Jacob's Creek about 10min south of Tanunda by car. The cottages vary in size, ours had a separate lounge room and bathroom - both generous in size. We stayed for two nights and had the degustation lunch - which was wonderful. Local produce is used - so the menu changes as the produce does. We were glad we were staying 1 min walk away from the pavillion as we were so full (and tipsy from the wine flight). Breakfast is also magnificent. A swimming pool is being built currently - so we're looking forward to returning one summer!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

This is not just a place to stay, it is an experience. We visited Jacobs Creek Retreat for our honeymoon and did not want to leave. The accommodation is welcoming and homely as well as luxurious. The food is world class and the grounds are a blooming wonderland of nooks and crannies, fragrance and style. We felt like personal guests of Wyndham and his wife. This place is a credit to two creative and passionate hospitality professionals. Inspirational!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park

Address: Nitschke Road off Krondorf Road, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobs Creek Retreat At Moorooroo Park Hotel Tanunda
Jacobs Creek Retreat At Moorooroo Park Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.