We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your ear plugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel to your Saves list
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Murray Street, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Wellington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bring your ear plugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Thanks to Easter almost everything else was already booked. It looked decent though and since we just wanted to cycle though Barossa valley we booked it. The staff was most helpful and extremely kind. The room was OK, but extremely noisy. If you need to stay here bring your ear plugs, you WILL need them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    43
    22
    11
See reviews for
13
77
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better place to spend a couple of nights while touring the wonderful wineries of the Barossa Valley. While not the most modern, it makes up for it with friendly staff. We got some great tips for sightseeing and felt like a local when we had a few drinks in the bar. As far as price is concerned, I can't offer any insights since a travel agent had booked our stay, but in driving around, I think he made the right selection.

And the service doesn't end when you leave - I left a sports jacket in the closet and discovered this just before I was headed home to Sweden! The reception staff already had located the item, inventoried the items in the pockets and had come up with a cost-effective way for me to be reunited with my jacket. I think that it's a perfect motel in a nice country town, and it reminded me of growing up in the Finger Lakes. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: We liked our room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked this motel via internet and had stayed 3 years ago on a similar trip (Sydney to Adelaide) unfortunately the hotel has not had much spent on it since them, breakfast was not included in tariff ($160.00 per night) and at $ 20.00 each we went to Maccas staff were a little confused on check in ,did not seem to know how to use the efpos machine although they said it was a new one but looked the same to me. We dad dinner on site and was ordinary pub food at restaurant prices wifi was weak signal, We would most likely look around the area to stay if we return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The price to stay here is way too much at $175. Booked the basic room on wotif for 3 adults including the $25 surcharge for additional adult. Checked in to find the room with dated furniture, which is okay, but the bathroom was not clean with hair on the floor, sink and in the shower. The table with the TV on it had not been wiped down (thick layer of dust on the back foot of the table). Having paid for 3 adults to stay was disappointed only 2 towels in the bathroom and when we rang to request a third towel they asked me to go to reception to collect it. Our family member's infant visited us at the room (crawler) and we discovered the window sill behind the curtain had not been cleaned in forever. The bed was comfortable but the wall unit airconditioner was very loud so had to switch it off to sleep, which made for a very warm night (less than ideal). Its a shame since the location is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeintalManager, General Manager at Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We will take on board your comments and see if we can do better.
I think it fair to point out that your price did include breakfast for two adults.
If you decide to return to the Weintal, I invite you to contact me personally - subject to availability only, I will upgrade you to one of our luxury self contained studio apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniva, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This motel reminds me of the Mecure in Melbourne. It was nice and clean with buffet style breakfast. Bed was comfortable and room was spacious. Titanic exhibition was a nice touch too. Free wifi was only 2 bars of reception, so had to go outside with laptop to pick up better speed. We stayed for business, but they are well set up for garden weddings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adlaide
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Staff were good, booking check in/out simple. Accommodation adequate.
Breakfast not included so we paid at the time - fair enough - but was expensive. $15 for a bowl of cereal and a couple of slices of toast ridiculous.
Would stay again but only if other accommodation booked out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maffra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

To all at the Weintal - thank you so much for the wonderful stays we have had at your resort. We have been working in SA for the last 6 months and enjoyed our initial stay at the Weintal so much we have returned another 4 times on our days off. We also purchased a gift voucher for our daughter to show your facilities off to her too. She also loved it.The studio spa suite, the meals (the curry nights and rib nights must be mentioned!) and the staff have all been fantastic. We are heading back to Vic now and will certainly spread the word about what a great place your resort is to stay at.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different suites, each identical. Being at the rear of the resort they are always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel

Address: 235 Murray Street, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel offers standard accommodation in 40 rooms and luxury accommodation in our 10 studios. Our Tavern and Garden Restaurants serve food 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We maintain a wide selection of wines, mainly from local wineries. We are located at the heart of the Barossa Valley within walking distance to several wineries and cellar doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Tanunda
Flag Barossa Weintal Tanunda
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.