We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly and clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barossa Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barossa Backpackers to your Saves list
Barossa Backpackers
9 Basedow Road, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Great location, friendly and clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my first stay at a backpackers but we were very impressed and would definitely do it again. The backpackers is right on the property of a great winery (chateau tanunda) and right near town which was a great location. The manager and owner were really helpful and even offered to organise one of the other backpackers to take us around to the winerys in one of the barossa backpacker vans which turned out to be a lot cheeper than going on any other tours.
We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend with friends and chose the private rooms option. Overall it was a great stay with clean bedrooms, clean bathrooms and lively common areas. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    2
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
6
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the hostel for two nights over the weekend. We booked a private double room which came with a double bed and a single bunk on top. The room also came equipt with a small heater, a bag holder, coat hook and and a storage unit which didnt lock.

Our first nights stay at the hostel was pleasant. The facilities were clean and had been looked after nicely throughout the day.

The second night we had to go out to attend a wedding, when we came back it was 12.30am and the occupants of the hostel were drinking, smoking, swearing and playing loud music despite signs every where to stop these things at 11.30pm...We tried to call the number supplied to try and sort it out as we had a 12 hour drive ahead of us the next day and wanted some rest but the number didnt connect...Once we finally got to sleep we woke up in the morning and the mess and the smell in the common areas was revolting. I went to use the bathroom and there was no toilet paper, I went for a shower and it was littered with cigarettes and alcohol bottles. My partner also mentioned the mens toilet was similar and even had vomit clogging the sink!

We left the hostel before office hours opened and didnt get a chance to speak with them. We enjoyed our stay but it would be nice if the back packers maybe considered others around them and the cleanliness they are living in...

Room Tip: Safe the hassle - book a private double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek H, Manager at Barossa Backpackers, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Angie,

Thank you for your review of our hostel. We are very sorry about the unpleasant actions of our guest partying on Saturday night and disrupting your sleep. We hope you had a safe 12 drive back home.

We unfortunately had to ask 3 people to leave the hostel as a result of the party and mess they created on Saturday night. Barossa Backpackers prides itself as a clean, safe, fun environment for all guest and on this rare occasion we had unpleasant backpackers who's selfish action left guests unhappy and trashed our hostel.

As a result of the hostel being trashed on Saturday night we have increase our security presence at the hostel,

Once again we are sorry to here that you had a unpleasant stay.

Kind Regards

Barossa Backpackers Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great Place!

We stayed in Barossa Backpackers for 2 nights in a double room with shared bathroom. The showers and toilets were very clean as was the bedroom. This was of course basic, but cozy enough. The common rooms were lively and enjoyable. The hostel was right in the middle of vineyards and just a short stroll to Cellardoors and shops

The Hostel has free car parking, beautiful gardens and a nice BBQ area

I would certainly recommend this hostel to people looking for good cheap accomodation in Barossa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Always helpful and smiling at reception, very strategic place near the supermarket,visitor center,cellar doors and bus stop, clean bathrooms, you'll meet a lot of friendly backpackers : one of them took me for free trip to some cellar doors... I went in this place twice before, and I've never been disappointed. The dormitories (6 beds) are a bit tiny and it might hard to sleep if your roommates come back late at night or leave early in the morning as the doors are VERY noisy !!!! but overall great fun

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is great I only booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying for a 5 and then my holiday was finshed :( I missed Kanagroo island and the flinders but I have no regrets this place was amazing. Why do you ask?? Cause this place rocks maybe its because its next to some of the best wineries in the world and guess what the wine tasting is free !!!!! how good is that!!!! The staff are super friendly and when your finshed wine tasting when you head back to the backpackers you just compare your wines you bought with other guests that went tasting that day! can get a bit messy but over all great fun!! thanks to all the staff that were there from Ryan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here with the Mrs whilst ravelling around the barossa. Was a very last minute thing, and staff incredibly helpful.
Comfortable warm beds, adequate food. Good location

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed in a private with my Girlfriend and the room had it's own small heater, which we didn't really even need because the blankets were nice and warm.
Was a bit annoying that check-in was only 9-12 and 5-9 we arrived around 3pm.
Overall a good nights sleep though. We didn't really use any kitchen facilities at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barossa Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Backpackers

Address: 9 Basedow Road, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Tanunda
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Barossa Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Backpackers Barossa Valley/Tanunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barossa Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.