We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and very tired looking rooms. Will not recommend to any friends.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments to your Saves list
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   14 Main Road, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Robe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very tired looking rooms. Will not recommend to any friends.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Totally disappointing. The trip advisor reviews on this inn certainly didn't live up to my expectation at all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Stanhope_2004, Owner at Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Customer satisfaction is the life blood of any motel and therefore we take any criticism very seriously. We have been owners of this motel for over 20 years and during that time have progressively refurbished the motel, the last major project in 2008 and including the current upgrade of our 3.5 star rooms. Cleanliness and service has always been a priority as evidenced by previous guest reviews and therefore I find the scores in this area completely out of character. In the absence of any reviewer details including date of stay nor any complaints made directly to the motel it is very difficult to ascertain or indeed rectify any specific problems. I encourage all my guests, including this reviewer to discuss any concerns they may have in an open, friendly and constructive environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    68
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
56
78
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Turangi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Robe is a beautiful place in Winter and Robetown is a great place to see it from. Great hosts and the concept they have of an indoor barbecue area fully equipped is outstanding! Lets you self cater without the hassle of it being in your room so now cooking smells!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed for one night at Robe Town Motor Inn on our recent travels in Australia. We needed somewhere pretty much halfway between Adelaide and Warrnambool for the night and Robe looked like a nice little fishing town, of all the accomodation options this one fitted our budget and needs best with a double room costing around the £70 mark for the night.

This motel has an indoor swimming pool on site which is a bit of an unexpected bonus. We did not use it as our stay was too short really but it looked clean and tidy and certainly seemed popular with other guests. On arrival you go up a steepish driveway which leads into the central parking area and the motel itself is therefore perched on a hill. Steps lead down into the town on the other side from the driveway and it is only a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of town with plenty of eating and drinking options around. The beach is also very close although you can't really see it from the Motel itself.

On arrival our check in was quick and efficient and we were given a key to our room. In the reception area we noticed there is a small shop area where you can pick up basic groceries and wine. Our room was in the corner and each room has a dedicated parking space outside in the traditional style.

I have to say the room was even better than I had expected. Nicely furnished and with a massive queen size bed, a flat screen TV and a small kitchenette area (toaster, kettle, crockery etc). Notably this was the only place we stayed on our entire trip which provided real wine glasses as standard - a very nice touch and one we utilised! The bathroom was spotless and felt very new, a power shower at one end sink in the middle and loo at the other end, it did not feel cramped either.

Within the main room we also had a table and two chairs under the window which was lovely and meant we could comfortably eat fish and chips we bought back for tea without sitting on the bed. There was also a sofa and a long sideboard - absolutely bags of room for putting things.

I actually believe the bed here was one of the most comfortable I have EVER slept in and it was very difficult to persuade myself to get out of it in the morning. The shower too was very good and all in all we felt this place represents great value for money. I only wish all hotel/motels could reach the benchmark set here for the money.

Well recommended for anyone needing a bed for the night in this area of Australia, also we highly recommend the fish and chip shop which is a 3 minute walk away and the bottle shop attached to the Caldonian, between these two places we picked up a bottle of merlot and a lovely supper for less than $25 (around £16) which is a bit of a bargain in Australia at the moment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in two rooms. The rooms were comfortable and clean. A few minutes from Robe centre and seafront. There are communal BBQ facilities (indoor). This owner run motel was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights on the way to Adelaide. The couple who run the place were great - very helpful. Rooms were exactly what we expected from looking at the website and were serviced to a high standard. I would definitely stay here again.

My only (very minor) complaint is that the free Wifi is only available form 8 am to 8pm a day - would be better if it was 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I would definately recommend to others with children to stay. Has a great indoor pool, if it rains it gives you something to do. There is a BBQ area (indoor) with a space invader machine and a television - so if you want to prepare meals its perfect. The rooms themselves are very dated, although neat and tidy they are in need of a refresh, but only in appearance. It has what you need, lovely beds with pillow that still have filling. The bathroom even has a little bath for children. Our only complaint is that the rooms could benefit from a little microwave and we were invaded by ants (but the room had bug spray). Robe is a lovely town, from this hotel you can walk everywhere. The service is the best we've seen for a long time, didn't matter our question the front desk was there to help. If you're going we found the hotels/pubs expensive for meals but there is a great pizza shop with really great food and reasonably priced. Coffee shops everywhere, but service would be great if it came with a smile. Icecream shop in the main street is also fantastic - try the Estonian Cake (different but very worthwhile). Overall hotel and town great, we will be back and will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Great location within walking distance to everything. Clean tidy rooms. Helpful service, good advice about things to see and where to eat.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments

Address: 14 Main Road, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Robetown Motor Inn & Apartments has a variety of family-friendly spacious motel rooms and apartments overlooking the beautiful township of Robe. All ground floor units, with reverse cycle air-conditioning and some with undercover car parking. All rooms & apartments have free Wi-Fi, flat screen LCD televisions, refrigerator, toaster, tea and coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, and hair dryer. Motel rooms include free Austar movies and sport while apartments are complete with DVD player and free movie hire. Our 2 and 3 bedroom apartments offer a full kitchen with electric cooktop, oven, and sink; while our 1 bedroom apartments feature a kitchenette with electric frypan. All apartments are equipped with microwave and all crockery & cutlery needs. A luxurious indoor heated swimming pool and separate heated spa and a modern indoor barbecue area with all facilities for large or small groups are available for all guests at no charge. Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments is only metres from the local supermarket and just a short stroll to beaches, the town centre shopping, hotels, restaurants, arts & crafts, boat harbour, walking trails and historical buildings. Surf, swim, ski, fish, play golf or just take in the picturesque village of Robe. Robe is the Gem of S.A. and we would love to help you enjoy it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robetown Hotel Robe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.