We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sails

Sails
21 Victoria Street, Robe, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Robe
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Newish restaurant serving mainly fresh fish and asian food in contemporary surroundings.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Lobster!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Excellent lobster, largest I have ever seen! Must try, if they are in season. (Call ahead to reserve and make sure you get one!)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    57
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Local Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Was not expecting how good the meal would be. Came highly recommended by friends who grew up here. Friendly service. Produce excellent. Was expecting those but what was not expecting was the very high standard of the cooking.
It was the first night of the local rock-lobster degustation. It was very very good and great value.
The rations were if anything overly generous. We took our 9 year old daughter who lves her food and her meal was also very good.
The Lobster Thermidor pie with apple / fennel slaw was my highlight though the lobster crab dumpling gave it a good run for its money.
The wine list could do with a spruce up to match the quality of the of the of food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting flavours and worth the journey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were looking for a good meal in the Robe/Kingston area and Sails was recommended to us. But we were told to book as it was popular even though it was a Tuesday night (and after a long weekend). Needless to say we booked. Good thing too as the place really began to buzz by about 7:15 with only three tables for 2 left in an establishment I estimated could seat about 40. The layout with couples adjacent to each other makes for conversation with your fellow guests. On one side (the corner table on the other side was unused) we had a couple from Germany, whilst we also heard an English couple, a Swiss couple and a few locals chatting and sharing their meal experiences.

On arrival we were greeted pleasantly and taken to our table. The menu was interesting and took in local flavours. Prices were the same fixed in each category - entree ($16.50), main ($34.50) , dessert ($14.50) or lobster ($105 for a whole lobster). The wine list included local varietals (it is Limestone Coast after all), Coonawara and other well respected areas either by the bottle or in many cases by the glass ($7 - $8)

We skipped entree. My wife ordered the whiting (Yellow fin whiting; Potato,
egg, pickled vegetables, crisp pancetta, sauce gribiche) whilst I ordered the roast duck (Roast duck breast, fennel, orange, macerated dates, nuts and seeds). We also ordered some sauteed greens (Sauté greens, preserved lemon, almonds).

Service was excellent and not intrusive. Our meals arrived fairly promptly and were very well presented. My wife's whiting was excellent - lovely clean fillets of whiting, well cooked overlaid on the potato and vegetables. The duck breast was also impressive - perfectly cooked duck breast cut into 3cm sections with a line of dukha separating it from the roast fennel, dates and orange in a smooth jus.

The mix of flavours complemented each other and gave an impression of attention to detail.
The sauteed greens deserve a mention too - green beans that still had a bite to them with salty preserved lemon and chopped almonds. Complementary to the main meal adding another dimension to the flavour.

Dessert was Roast peach, frozen lemon, yoghurt, passion fruit, coconut macaroon served in a preserving jar (I'm informed that its one of the new trends). My wife was very happy with that and delighted with the flavour combination.

My own dessert of Elements of citrus; choc chip ice cream, gel, foam, cheesecake, sherbet, and ginger crumble was excellent - with 3 discrete palettes to explore. The citrus flavours subtly through each component. The choc chips were not large and in fact appeared to be a flavoured white chocolate, and the ginger crumble subtle and delicious.

All in all a very pleasant evening and well worth the trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Mid-week and not high season one still had to book. By 8 o'clock the place was packed! We both had a mixed seafood dish, with prawns, scallops, mussels and squid, which was delicious. All the mains were priced at $34.50, and all the puddings were €14.50. Didn't think the desserts were particularly good value. The 2 cheerful waitresses were knowledgable about the food and the wine.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Try the lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Really nice food, reasonably priced ($54 for half lobster thermidore), good service. Highly recommended

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails also viewed

Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 
Robe, South Australia
Robe, South Australia
 

Been to Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.