We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Robe House to your Saves list
Robe House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1A Hagen Street, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Robe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxfordshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

At the end of a long drive Robe House was a very welcome resting place. Little to do in Robe itself but it does have a certain charm. Our apartment at Robe House was well equipped and spotless and the owners charming and helpful. An added bonus - free wifi connection - larger establishments please note!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Dan,
thank you for your review of Robe House. It was great to meet you, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many travellers have made use of the wireless internet - it has certainly been a worthwhile addition to the facilities that we provide. I know that when we go away, we make use of an internet connection whenever we can find one
Best wishes,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Robe House is 2 minutes from the beach front and the main street through Robe. There is very little in Robe apart from a few cafes and a rather nice art/crafts shop.

My room had a gorgeous wrought iron bed, a well stocked kitchen area and a bathroom. All very clean and comfortable. There was fresh bread in the fridge, butter, fruit, milk, sweets and hand made biscuits as well as breakfast cereals.

Check in is a bit strange, you call someone from a phone mounted in a box on the fence, but it works! the lady that visited when everyone checked in was very nice and made sure I was OK.

Nice to get away from the mass tourist room and stay in something more personal, lovely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Kate,
thanks for your kind review of Robe House. I am sorry that we were away when you stayed, and we did not get to meet you - even owners of B&B's need a holiday!! Robe is a delightful fishing village with lots of lovely walks and beaches to die for!! While the temperature of the water can be a little cold, the sand is pristine and beautiful to walk on. We also have a great range of cafe's and restaurants for a town of its size.
We do hope that you visit us again one day.
Kind regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

With only 4 rooms, we were so pleased to have booked this unique little place on the edge of town & near the Marina. On arrival we were greeted by our charming host who showed us all the faclities available. The old building has been tastefully adapted to provide en-suite facilities.
Having driven abt 200 KM of boring road from Adelaide, we were anxious to walk out & explore the marina, around the headland to the Obelisk & reconstructed gaol. Restaurants seemed to close quite early & we only just got served at the pub at 8.15pm!
There was loads provided for us to prepare our own breakfast next day. We enjoyed it sitting outside on the verandah admiring the garden.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms to choose from. Ours was No 2 & great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear HappyWalker09, thank you for your review of Robe House. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Robe and with us. The drive from Adelaide can be a little tiresome especially in the hot summer months when everything is quite brown. You are quite right about the restaurants closing early - especially mid week. While Robe is a very popular tourist destination it is quite a small village of only 1000 odd people, so things tend to close early.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you again one day.
Best wishes,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you are doing the Great Ocean Road drive, keep driving. Dingy, dark, not clean, poor service (i think 'hands-off' and 'laid back' is what some visitors called the service it in the guest book - in my book it was just poor there was noone there to greet you and to give you a key to your room and noone was ever in the office if you needed them), could not wait to get out of here quick enough. This should absolutely not be classed as deluxe accommodation by Austravel. We nearly checked into the Best Western nearby, it was like sleeping in your granny's house when she wasn't there. We tried to open to net curtains to let some light in and the railings fell down! Don't ruin your holiday by staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Cattipoops,
thanks for taking the time to review Robe House. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Robe House. As we do not live on site, and have no idea what time to expect guests, we always leave a courteous note with directions, and catch up with guests during the course of their stay. We do provide a phone on site, and I am sorry that you did not give us the opportunity to offer you another apartment. Our apartments are always kept very clean in accordance with our 4 star rating, and maintenance issues are always dealt with immediately.
Winter days in Robe can be a little gloomy, with little natural light, however we have tried to combine the requirements of guests and those of the environment by using eco fluorescent globes in all of our rooms.
We do take pride in offering historic Robe House as a premium alternative to Motels in Robe - something we have been doing for 16 years now.
Yours sincerely,
Andrew Smith
Owner Robe House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just come back from visiting Australia, We stayed at Robe House it was beautiful, charming and extremely quaint and authentic. Thank you to Andrew and Sally the house is a credit to you both wished we had stayed longer Tony and Chrissie Williams.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Robe House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Chrissie and Tony, thank you for your kind review about Robe House. It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Robe House was the very first to be built in Robe, so we do try hard to keep that aspect as authentic as possible. Many of our guests wish that they could stay and enjoy Robe for longer, especially during the warmer months when the many coastal walks and beach beckons!!
We hope that we get to meet you again one day.
Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and it was fantastic. The whole place was decorated in a wonderful style and very appropriate for the facility. Everything was clean and neat. The kitchen was wonderful to use. Andrew was great and very helpful. The town of Robe was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi Sharon,
thank you for your review of Robe House. Our 2 bedroom apartment is quite spacious which some find a little too big for over night stays, however we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and also made good use of the kitchen. The dresser in the kitchen was built in-situ back in the 1800's and most of the furniture has been collected by us over the years from the same period. It all adds to the experience of staying in Robe's first house all the more authentic. Old heritage properties do not suit everyones tastes, however we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope we will see you again one day!!
Kind regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

A lovely period house in a pretty village ideally placed to stop off en route from Melbourne to Adelaide. The key was left with a note detailing who was where and the free laundry was an unexpected bonus. Met the owners the following morning and they were charming

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Tommo2210,
thank you for your review of Robe House. We are glad that you found your room okay by following the directions left for you. We are not always able to be on site, and of course do not know what time to expect our guests so we have found this works best for us. We do call in during the evening to say hello, although sometimes when we call our guests are out exploring - in that case we generally try to catch up in the morning. I'm glad you were able to make use of the laundry which we encourage our guests to use if time permits.
Thanks again for your kind comments, and we are glad to see that you arrived back home safely.
Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robe House

Address: 1A Hagen Street, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Robe House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this charming building was the first to be built in Robe. From its early years as home of the Government Resident, Robe House has played an important role in the towns' history. Built from locally quarried sandstone and featuring high vaulted ceilings and rustic floorboards, Robe House is now 4 fully self contained bed and breakfast apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Robe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robe House Hotel Robe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.